We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass it up!”
Review of Iron Horse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Horse Station
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't pass it up!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is no reason for anyone to pass up a chance to eat (and even stay) here if given a chance and are in the area. The food is great, prices are decent, the building and setting is just very neat and unique. Interesting history, great location and just worth the time and money to come here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonewulf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    79
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
19
109
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great in every way. You really take a trip into the past -- this hotel is restored lovingly from the late 19th century and they have done a fabulous job -- I really didn't want to leave. You can get a simple single room or splurge for a room with a jacuzzi; either way prepare to be embraced in mountain-style luxury. Very unpretentious, very refreshing and innkeeper Jim Natichioni makes you feel welcome. Don't miss the adjoining restaurant with elaborate burgers or home-coooked entrees. And the ArtiSun Gallery and Marketplace next door is a must. So is the Bluff Mountain Outfitters nearby, which is much more than a hiking equipment store. Bottom line: This is an incredible mountain town, a hidden treasure that's also a stop on the Appalachian Trail, where you can sit back and relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evoevan
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I, like many people, live very busy lives between kids and a business. We took a very brief trip here (20 hours total), but it felt much longer. The atmosphere was relaxing, food was great and the staff was helpful without being overbearing. Trains did not bother us in the least. The rooms are all different, eloquently decorated, comfortable and clean. Fun walks are close by and the hot springs directly across the street. We had a wonderful time and I am looking forward to our next 'escape' here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evoevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed one night at the Iron Horse Station. The hotel was larger than I expected. The room was lovely, clean, spacious. The location was about an hour away from Asheville, NC. It was directly on the Appalachian trail. and very near the railroad tracks. The tracks being the major source on the noise throughout the night. All of this was known prior to making the reservation. The room we were in was 202, which had no particular view except the town maintenance yard and the dumpster behind the restaurant. We started our day very early and retired about 9:00pm to our room. It was Saturday night and there was live music playing in the restaurant. We could hear the music in our room, but It was fairly low and to be expected when you stay in an inn over a tavern. Until the restaurant closed and they locked up the place, about 11pm, you could hear a lot of noise from the kitchen, ie dumpster doors slamming, the back door to the kitchen slamming, etc.
All this being said The hotel had lots of charm, the restaurant was good, they have great local arts and crafts for sale in lovely galleries right downstairs. The staff was great and friendly. I would stay here again if I had to stay in Hot Springs. Which was a must on this trip since we went rafting with a company right down the street.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 202, or 203 that face the tracks and the back of the restaurant, or have a few more cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalindaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just returned from a two-night stay here in Room 202. We loved every minute of our stay in this beautifully-renovated historical building. We got a peak into about half the rooms in the Inn, and found them all tastefully decorated and well-appointed. Contrary to some prior reviews, my girlfriend and I had two very restful nights' sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable. We did not get a lot of noise in our room through the walls, but perhaps that was because our room was on the side of the building, so it only shared two walls rather than three? Another factor may have been the A/C, which was on the whole time, so maybe the constant fan/vent muffled the other noises? Not sure, all I know is that we both slept great. We did need the down comforter that was provided, because our room was a little chilly at night, but given that it was almost 90 degrees outside, we didn't mind that either. Other things that we liked were the free wireless internet, the proximity to the restaurant -- right downstairs! -- and the location of the Inn in town. The Inn also provides free coffee in the morning, and it was really nice to roll out of bed and pour myself a cup of coffee.

In terms of service, Hot Springs is a very, very small town. Don't expect white-glove, five-star service here. People are friendly but may be inclined to be less formal and to move at a slower pace than you might be accustomed to. If that troubles you, then Hot Springs might not be the right destination for you. Also know that there is a freight train that runs right through town. If you're a very light sleeper, you might think about staying out of the center of town. (That said, I'm a relatively light sleeper, and the train did not wake me or my girlfriend up either night. I think it comes through once or twice a night -- it's not a constant thing.) It might also be worth noting that the Inn has a big-screen tv in a common room for guests to share, but no tvs in individual rooms. This was not an issue for us, as we were not interested in watching tv, but I guess this could be an issue for some.

All in all, we had the perfect stay with everything we were looking for and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatbrooklynkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is such a beautiful and charming place to stay. Had a jacuzzi room, and only wish we could have stayed longer...loved the town, so charming and beautiful. Staff of hotel, as well as restaurant were very kind and accomodating. Walls were a little thin, but did not distract at all from what was a very relaxing and much needed getaway. Will be back for certain!! We will definetly be back... T&C

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel was good, especially for the price. The town is very small, but we found the people there to be friendly and accomodating. The coolest part of staying here is the building itself. Other reviewers have mentioned that the rooms are not on separate thermostats, but it wasn't an issue for us. The walls between rooms are not sound proof, but it was very quiet after about 10 pm. We enjoyed our 1st visit and will likely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_in_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
196 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Greeneville
Hampton Inn Greeneville
#1 of 8 in Greeneville
311 reviews
20.3 mi away
Quality Inn Greenville
Quality Inn Greenville
#4 of 8 in Greeneville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
24.7 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,077 reviews
10.4 mi away
Marshall House Inn
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Station

Property: Iron Horse Station
Address: 24 S Andrews Ave, Hot Springs, NC 28743-9213
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Station is an 1890's hotel, restaurant, and tavern with 31 adjacent artist and craft shops. Listed on the National Register, it is part of the Historic Inns of Hot Springs with sister property Mountain Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Station Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing