We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gangadhara - ECO Village Sri Lanka
Nearby Hotels
$154
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Trails(Uda Walawe National Park)
$75
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cormorant Lake Resort(Debarawewa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Cottage(Tissamaharama)(Great Value!)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungle Paradise(Udawalawa)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saraii Village(Tissamaharama)
$79
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tamarind Lake(Kataragama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandara Rosen(Kataragama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
40
22
3
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
22
3
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversri lankatree housebbq dinnerlocal communitychickennature walkfantastic experiencemud hutyala national parkcooking demonstrationthe ownercold waterget awayeco villagegreat foodfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 74 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent experience in the tented camp - with a bbq in the evening.... have a walk thru the wilderness, turtles, birds, ... and have a swim in the river next to the camp, which also has nice tree houses. I did enjoy our 2 days stay a lot!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Best place in sri Lanka to having
nature experience. Its realy nice different from most luxury hotels. Brid and nature lover shod stay here to enjoy. Night BBQ dinner really very tasty.village lunch rice and curry
Offer with clay pots rreally nice and tasty not much spicy

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guide44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner and I travelled through Sri Lanka for 3 weeks in August 2013. The guide we travelled with recommended we stay a few nights at Gangdahara whilst exploring the near-by Yala National Park.... we were not disappointed! It was amazing!

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the staff and treated to some of the coldest beer in all of Sri Lanka (out of the coolest hand made clay mugs I've ever seen) and sat down for a delicious traditional lunch feast.

We were also lucky enough to be the first to stay in their specially built tree house... one word... awesome!... its even decked out with a double bed, full bathroom w/shower and toilet, electricity, power-points, verandah and the most relaxing hammock, all over looking the beautiful river that flows below. At night we fell asleep to the sounds of insects and the occasional air riffle warding off the inquisitive elephants!

During the day they do nature walks through neighbouring farms, bird watching, organise a safari to the near by National Parks or you can take a cool dip in the river!...we even saw wild peacocks visiting in the pumpkin patch. At night, with the fire torches burning, all guests sit beside the river and enjoy an array of foods from BBQ pork, curries, vegetables, chicken and the new favourites (that we introduced) roasted pumpkin and for desert, toasted marshmallows!

Overall our experience at Gangadhara was fantastic and Sumudu and his team do an awesome job in giving you an experience you will never forget. Being a truly unique style of accommodation in Sri Lanka, they'll soon be offering camp sites (something that is actually quiet foreign in Sri Lanka), which again will give you an experience like no other.

If you love being in the outdoors, want somewhere close to the National Parks, quiet and is helping out the local community and farmers then head to Gangadhara, you'll love it!

Be quick though, once people start hearing about it, everyone will be there!....We're already planning our next trip back!

and remember when in Sri Lanka....Don't worry, be happy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelma_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews