We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Island!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holden Beach

Holden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent Island!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We just spent our 2nd Thanksgiving Week on Holden Beach and had an absolutely wonderful time! We rented "Summer Breeze" on the corner of Dunescape and E Ocean Blvd - a beautiful oceanfront home with views to die for! The owners were a joy to work with, and we were saddened to hear that "Summer Breeze" is on the market. We hope whoever buys it decides to still rent it out, as we would return for another annual Thanksgiving Week trip. It is a dog friendly house, which was wonderful to find at a reasonable fee, as most house rentals thru rentals agencies charge $200-225 for a pet! Holden Beach is non commercialized, quiet, peaceful and makes for a wonderful and enjoyable vacation. If you want some excitement, Myrtle Beach is 45-60 minutes down the road! ENJOY!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Modemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    41
    9
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S.E Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A GREAT off-season place to be.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were here just before Thanksgiving, 2013... 1st time visit.
NO High~Rise hotels, NO franchise retailers.....just a pleasant place to spend a few days
far away from a MICHIGAN November with it's perpetual gray skies.

We arrived with a travel trailer, w/o reservations. Only ONE place on the island to park,
Holden Beach Fishing Pier ...& Campground.
One must accept that this is a 'NO FRILLS' business and the appearance leaves a lot to be desired,but, It served our minimum needs. Certainly NOT a destination( the campground), but
it was nearly empty....only some 'seasonal'/ permanent occupants on site.

Shopping & dining out at small venues was enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank S2sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best family beach on East Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our family has vacationed here for over 20 years and it is always a replenishment for our souls and bodies. The beach is so beautiful and the water is mostly calm, making it much safer for the little ones. Little commercial outlets on the beachfront to distract from the natural beauty of the island. 13 years ago we bought a lot and built a permanent vacation home! This is one decision we stand by even more today than all those years ago! Got to go catch another beautiful Holden sunset!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great sun and fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were there in late September and the fishing was GREAT according to my husband! The sun and sand were also great. And some of us in our party(unfortunately not me) got to see two turtles heading down the trench towards the vast ocean!! Fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I vacationed at Holden Beach with family & friends in June 2013. This was my first visit. When you drive across the bridge and reach the top, the view is breath-taking! There were 11 of us, and we rented an ocean-front beach house. It was very roomy and comfortable. We had our own spot on the beach, not crowded at all. There aren't tons of shops/restaurants, so if you're looking for excitement ...... go somewhere else. But, if you're looking for relaxation, family time, enjoying nature ..... Holden Beach can't be beat! Holden is a great town for biking/walking. Wish I'd had more time to explore the sea turtles and learn more about them. We drove to Wilmington one day, had a great lunch and toured the battleship. We traveled to Myrtle Beach another day for shopping, Ripley's Aquarium, etc. Actually, there are some very neat & unique shops in Holden Beach that I didn't discover until the last evening before we left. Wish I had explored these shops earlier in the week! I will definitely be returning to this awesome little town!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holden Beach also viewed

Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Holden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing