We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual fun”
Review of Provision Company

Provision Company
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Holden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual fun”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great views of ICW. Good food, casual atmosphere. Crab cakes and grouper sandwich are our favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appgrad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    140
    58
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place is highly overrated! Went there about 8pm on a Wednesday night. Walked in the front door and almost got blown away by the heat from the kitchen. You order, then get your own beer from the cooler and order your own drink from the bar. They do bring the food to you. You pay on your way out. Our party ordered the cucumber salad(pretty good), french fries(pretty good), Rum Dum? specialty drink was really good but for $5 it should have been in a larger cup than the small hotel room size cup(6 oz.maybe). Also had the shrimp burger which was shrimp somehow squished together and fried. The shrimp burgers I have had are fried shrimp on a bun. And we also ordered the crab cake, which was nothing more than a lot of filler that was over fried, greasy, nasty and had no crab taste about it whatsoever! Will never go back. Oh and by the way it is very hard to find in the dark! And it is all outdoor(covered) seating on the ICW.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food while sitting on the intracoastal waterway”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lots of good food choices in this casual restaurant. We ordered the Shrimp Burger since a friend said we had to try it. The burger sounds a big strange but it was fantastic. It is served on a grilled roll along with lettuce, tomato, onion, and pickles (on the side) as well as a Provision's special sauce. I highly recommend the Shrimp Burger. We also got fries and onion rings. May sound a bit strange but the fryer oil temperature must have been perfect during out visit. The onion rings were a perfect crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. They weren't too soggy and the onion didn't pull out from the rest of the ring with the first bite. The fries were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. This place is definitely casual which is nice for a beach dinner stop. You order your food at the counter when you enter and then go sit down and they bring you your food. You pay at the same counter when you leave. Good choices of bottled beer. Two shrimp burgers, two Fat Tire beers, onion rings, french fries, and a tip for $35. We both highly recommend The Provision Company for casual beach dining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
Level Contributor
892 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Waterfront”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Off beating path , on the water front ,service ok ,had the lunch special steamed shrimp ,crab cake, slaw $8.75

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chicken Sandwich”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Loved the casual atmosphere and sitting outside, overlooking the water. Chicken sandwich was excellent. My husband had the shrimp and also thought they were very good. Wish I had ordered the onion rings - they looked delicious. I would definitely come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slpoindexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provision Company also viewed

Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
Holden Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Provision Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing