We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Good Option” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinny's Italian Grill

Vinny's Italian Grill
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a Good Option”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our previous experience at Vinny's was bad (take out pizza), so we stayed away for awhile. Decided on a whim to check out their pasta offerings tonight- not much better.

To begin with, the garlic bread or whatever that was supposed to be was stale,dried out, and relatively tasteless. My wife had the cheese ravioli, which she liked OK since it was very cheesy, but the chicken parm I had was awful. The sauce was way over-salted, the chicken was dry... just bad all around.

Waitstaff was harried since it was pretty busy, but never stopped back to check on us after delivering the food until the check arrived. We had higher hopes for this visit since we live nearby, love Italian food, and this is the closest sit-down place to us, but we won't be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been here a number of times in previous years and I have always liked Vinny's, but this time it just wasn't like I expected, The food was okay but not super, it is just like it has all become routine, I think they have the same menu for a number of years now, and could do with something fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food. Short staffed. Ambivalent management.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

After exploring my new city, I found myself at Vinny’s Italian Grill in Hillsboro, NC. Having lived in NJ and taken several trips to Little Italy, I think I can assess good Italian food with some degree of accuracy. Vinny’s made me a fine pepperoni pizza. The plus was fresh basil and not out of a spice dispenser who might be god knows how old. Also a perk, they have fresh mushrooms.

I ordered 2 appetizers, an iced tea and a pizza. I got one of the appetizers, my pizza and a refill. My waitress stopped by my table 4 times: taking my order, delivering my pizza, pouring me a second tea and delivering my check. A status check on my meal components would have been meeting my minimum expectations. I loathe wait staff that hovers but appreciate those who check to make sure I got what I asked for and that I like what was given to me. It didn’t happen. Why? I’ll tell you.

My one waitress had me, 2 two tops, a 6 top and 2 four tops. (6 tables, 19 patrons if you are counting). The poor girl was a perpetual motion machine. She was really good too as she was flustered in the kitchen and professional on the floor. ( I was sitting next to the kitchen) It was just before 1PM so I thought that they would be staffed up for the lunch. I asked her if they were down a person; they weren’t. Having been in the business 20+ yrs ago, it bothered me to see a great product be jinxed but poor personnel management, not poor waitstaff.

Being curious, I asked the cashier if this was a typical lunch crowd. He said it was. I did see one other waitress but she was handling the other half of the floor that I did not see.

I asked if the manager was present. Overtly, I was going to compliment him on the freshness of the ingredients. Covertly, I wanted an answer to the short staffing. It was a long standing issue per other comments from other sites (Google, Yelp, etc) I was directed to a man sitting in an alcove next to the main entrance. He was leaned back in a chair, talking on a cell phone with his feet kicked up.

I lingered to have my conversation. His conversation, although much more interesting, was neither business related nor appeared to end anytime soon. It was a perfect example of service industry management / ambivalence which I will summarize with the word ‘dish-baggery’. Everyone should be kicking xxxx and taking names during the lunch rush.

So – great food, meager staffing, DB mgmt.. Give your money to a company that cares about the food, the staff and the patrons equally well. I would suggest Slice of NY Pizza or Randy's Pizza.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 277JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a number of tris to Hillsborough, we recently "discovered" Vinny's. Food is great. And they have a gluten-free menu!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food/ good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The chicken picatta is awesome, Service is good, ambiance is simple but nice. great food for good price

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank southern_boy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinny's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Vinny's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing