We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubdelicious”
Review of Wooden Nickel Pub

Wooden Nickel Pub
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pubdelicious”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My new favorite place to stop for a cold beer, great atmosphere and creative pub menu is the Wooden Nickel in downtown Hillsborough just west of Durham, not far off I-40. As soon as you walk into this bar/restaurant you will know that you have found a new home because it feels so warm, friendly and quirky. It's not a big place so if you plan to spend some time here, I would recommend getting here early. In a world of national chains of every variation, it's great to know that an individual owner can always offer something a bit more special. Don't expect the fancy. Just expect to leave happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hillsborough
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food is always good. We go for lunch and dinner on different occasions and it is always good. At times it gets noisy but that is part of their atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Traveling in the area, came across one of the best pubs ever!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If I lived in the area, I would be at the Wooden Nickel pretty much every day. On a recent road trip with a friend, we came across the Wooden Nickel, just as the sky was about to let loose with a sudden storm. We stopped in for a drink and a dry place to hide, and left 3.5 hours later, after 4 darn fine Bloody Mary's, and dinner (including one of the best handmade black bean burgers, ever, and garlic fries that still have me dreaming of more). The service was attentive, the drinks were well made, the food was delicious, and the crowd was awesome -- a melange of hippies/progressives/professionals. We will be back to North Carolina soon, and the Wooden Nickel Pub will be a definite return stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Beer - Great food - honestly”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Better than average beer craft beer selection and food deserving of an upscale restaurant. This ain't no "beer joint" although it does have good beer, a really cool and laid back staff, and a lot of folks just hanging out having a drink and some eats. The difference is the food. It is a lot easier to find beer than good food. This place has both...plus and eclectic atmosphere. The menu has what you would expect for a local pub (wings and such) but it also has some rather unique dishes that will really allow you to pair your beer with your food. To me this is a "must go" if you are in the Hillsboro area. Wanna sit outside and watch life go by...no problem - they've got that covered as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ordered the ostrich burger - perfect choice! My husband's bison burger was great as well.
Good sweet tea was a plus!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wooden Nickel Pub also viewed

 

Been to Wooden Nickel Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing