We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayr Mt”

Ayr Mount Historic Site
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ayr Mount is an 1815 Federal-style plantation house built by William Kirkland of Ayr, Scotland. During a guided tour you will hear about the family who resided here for 4 generations, the interesting architecture, local history, and the restoration process. Purchased in 1985 by Richard H. Jenrette it is now furnished with original Kirkland pieces, museum quality antiques by Duncan Phyfe and others, plus beautiful decorative arts of the period. Conveniently located just minutes from Chapel Hill and Durham. Tours given March 15 through December 15 on Wed, Thurs, Fri, Sat at 11 AM and Thurs, Fri, Sat, Sun at 2 PM. (Other times by appointment only.) $12 Per person, cash only.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ayr Mount is a nice find in Hillsborough. The Poet's walk is a nice easy walk that takes you by the river. Our family has had professional photos taken on the grounds and near/in the water. You can have a picnic there and can see the house for a fee.

Thank RDL_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at Ayr Mount Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi - So glad you enjoyed your visit on the Poet's Walk - it is a great spot to take a walk, picnic or have photos taken.
Readers should know that there is a fee charged for groups using the picnic area. We also charge a photography fee. Information about picnics, photography, events, etc. can be found on our website which is listed above.
Cheers, Ayr Mount staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"poet's walk"
in 27 reviews
"house tour"
in 8 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 5 reviews
"eno river"
in 29 reviews
"federal style"
in 4 reviews
"restored house"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"plantation home"
in 2 reviews
"interesting history"
in 3 reviews
"stretch your legs"
in 2 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful walk"
in 3 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 3 reviews
"self guided"
in 2 reviews
"great place to walk"
in 2 reviews
"pond"
in 11 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

So, I'm down in North Carolina visiting a friend and we're looking for things to do in the Triangle Area. I love plantations and historic homes, so an online search revealed Ayr Mount, a plantation built by the Kirkland family in 1815, right outside Hillsborough.

Tours don't happen every day, and you need to check before you go, but if you're interested in history, GO! The house is stunningly preserved and contains many original furnishings. The house is just gorgeous and our guide, Shotzie, was delightful and very knowledgable.

The house can only be visited by tour, and it costs $10 and lasts an hour. Afterwards, wander the grounds and enjoy the lovely paths and the Eno River.

In Hillsborough itself, you can pick up food at the Weaver Street Market and have a picnic on the grounds: there are tables and plenty of space to sit down and just enjoy yourself.

Be aware, there were no facilities that I was aware of, and no on site shops or food. Plan accordingly!

A hidden gem and a real glimpse into the life of an early, very wealthy merchant family. Well worth the side trip if you're in the neighborhood!

2  Thank JAS576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at Ayr Mount Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi JAS576. Thanks so much for coming to visit Ayr Mount and your recent review. We agree that the house is stunningly preserved and a treat for visitors interested in history, period furniture and architecture. Classical American Homes Preservation Trust has a house museum in South Carolina that is open for for tours. If you get back to the south you should check it out. Go to our website listed above to see Millford or sign up for our mailing list. Cheers from the Ayr Mount staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went here for the first time last week as a visitor from the Northeast, and it was well worth the wait! The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. You really feel transported in time when you walk through the house (I would highly recommend taking a tour..the guide was very informative). There is a lovely trail around the house called The Poet's Walk if you want to take in a little sunshine and great views. Great place for a future picnic if I make it back to town.

Thank KayMichelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at Ayr Mount Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for posting about your recent trip to Ayr Mount. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Glad you found us from the Northeast! If you would like to be added to our mailing list, please visit our website at the top of our tripadvisor page.

Thanks again for your interest and patronage! Cheers, the amazing Ayr Mount staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

While visiting the Raleigh/Durham area for a couple of weeks, it was suggested that we head over to Hillsborough. So one day we did. Very cute town and we stopped into the visitors center and they directed us to this historic site. It was a beautiful day to visit. We did not go into th house but the grounds are beautiful. Looks like it would be a great place for a picnic too!

Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hillsborough has so many great places to visit. The grand Ayr Mount has a wonderful trail along side the river, expansive views, a pond and historical cemetary. House tours are available. Just sitting on the Adirondeck chairs and looking out to west is awesome. Great place to picnic. Get food from Weaver Street Market and enjoy the views!

Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayr Mount Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Ayr Mount Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing