We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

quoted us a higher amount than I have paid at Holiday Inn express before. Got room alittle lower. Then fun began. AC in room didn't cool. Mainteance looked at filters then went and got a fan. Not funny was too hot for that. When we said we would leave they found us a room with working AC. They only did that because we threatened to leave. Bad Bad service. Should have taken some off the room. drain in shower slow. could hear people next door.
Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for room with good ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Cathy C,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel was very accommodating with their amenities and service. Rooms were clean and tidy. I will stay there again when I travel back in the area. Very friendly management.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I rated this hotel so low not because of the rooms or amenities, which I understand were nice enough, clean, and comfortable (I made a block of reservations for visiting family)--but because of the horrible customer service I received from the hotel manager after I was charged for two rooms I did not reserve.

The mistake was discovered when my family arrived to check in. I talked to the same manager the next business day to try and clear it up. I was nice, asking if something might have happened. (I made the reservation by phone a few weeks earlier, and there had been "computer problems" that I figured might have caused the mix-up). I was met with general defensiveness and very unprofessional accusations--"you knew about the extra rooms all along," "how do I know you're telling the truth," etc. He finally agreed to talk to the receptionist that was there when my family arrived to "check my story"--I would have to call him back to get any more information.

His response was pretty worrisome, so I called Holiday Inn's central guest relations number. They couldn't find any record of the extra rooms I was being charged for--just the ones I had *actually* reserved/gotten confirmation numbers for. This was a relief, but made me question the situation even more.

I called back, asked nicely if he'd been able to work anything out, and was treated with condescension. He had "decided he would take my word for it," and would refund the extra charges "out of goodwill." He knew I had called central guest relations (I supposed they had contacted him?), and confronted me about it, as though I shouldn't have done so. When I asked for a receipt reflecting the refund, he complied, but seemed annoyed. He then asked me if I had disputed the charge with my credit card company--I hadn't, yet--because "he would charge my card again" if I did.

(... wait, what now?)

I have never been treated this poorly by someone in hospitality. The manager's defensiveness toward me as I tried to ask about an issue in a courteous manner made me very suspicious. He couldn't give me any confirmation numbers for the extra rooms and the central reservation system showed no trace of them. After a lot of unpleasantness, I got my money back--but I'm watching my credit account closely and will never make reservations here again. Traveler beware!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StephanieW524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Booked this hotel last minute but for a good price, check in was easy although we ended up being charged twice as much after we had returned home. A quick phone call and it was all sorted. The rooms were nice and clean although nothing special. The hotel was ideally situated between 2 Interstates, we used the pool but it was full of leaf debris and furniture after strong winds. Nothing major as we pulled it out and swam anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davehedgehog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

we came for family reunion and stayed 2-3 days. room very clean, staff very friendly. very helpful. greet all the time , when ever they see us.very enjoyable stay.maple view ice cream place they tell us was fantastic.we love to have another reunion at same place.very nice location . close to I 85 and I 40. right on exit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monalisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family stayed here over Thanksgiving 2011, and when we got home, we began getting bed bug bites. After spending over $200 and countless hours, we finally got rid of these pests 4 weeks later after much stress and suffering. I received an extremely defensive attitude from the manager, and no help at all from the corporate offices, with no restitution made to us. We will NOT be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Staff was very polite and helpful. However, the lobby had a smokey smell when I first walked in. I should have stopped & walked out at that time. The "non smoking" room also smelled of smoke. I will make a point of not stopping there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsborough
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough
8.7 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Mebane
Hampton Inn Mebane
#1 of 2 in Mebane
323 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough

Address: 202 Cardinal Dr, Hillsborough, NC 27278-2176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hillsborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough Hotel! Our hotel is conveniently located off I-85 and I-40 in a small town that is rich with history. While you are visiting with us in Hillsborough, either on business or pleasure, enjoy some of our various hotel amenities and let our staff assist you with suggestions and directions to our most popular tourist attractions and local companies. Here on Business? Our hotel has complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We offer a deluxe breakfast bar to get your day started and a cardio room to help you stay healthy. We are located near the following: Research Triangle Park, Duke Hospital, UNC Hospital, Euro Sports, General Electric, Vietri, Thale Construction and Roxboro/Mayo Power Plants. Here on Leisure? Choose from one of our spacious rooms or suites and relax by our outdoor pool during the warmer seasons. We are located near the following attractions: Triangle Sports Plex, Durham Bulls, Dean Smith Center, University of Chapel Hill, Duke University, Duke Chapel, the Dickerson House, and the Colonial Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area Hotel Hillsborough
Holiday Inn Hillsborough
Hillsborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing