We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight!”
Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlands Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delight!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Such a wonderful trip we just love the mountains and all the beautiful plants
and trees. The stay here at the Inn was nice. The Inn is circa 1880 and one of the best kept up historic properties that I have ever seen. The antiques in this Inn are beautiful! Located in the heart of wonderful shopping . Location alone is worth the room rate. If you are looking for the Ritz or Four Seasons, this place is not for you but it is definitely one of a kind and above average. Breakfast was a delight. All the restaurants where tops. Thanks to all the staff who were also wonderful. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    43
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
97
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We're celebrating 50 years of happy marriage. We have really enjoyed the
quietness and quaintness at the Inn. We love the coolest and lack of humidity.
Have enjoyed the hospitality at the Inn and browsing through the shops. Our
first time to stay here and will recommend it to our friends. We read the
previous post from June/July. I understand Highlands is a natural rain forest.
The manager said it rained for 27 days straight from the end of June on. This
could explain some of the reviews before. Hello, it's wet and damp with that
much rain! We have nothing but great things to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel online expecting a top notch hotel for the 200.00/night rate. The location was excellent but the hotel room and conditions were what I would expect for 1/2 that price.

The door lock was a press and twist handle like on an average bathroom in a home, The rooms were damp and dank,the carpet was wet and moldy, the A/C unit was vibrating and noisy to the point I took paper pamphlet and shoved them in the cracks to quiet it down.
The shower was luke warm AT BEST, and the shower was very dirty too.

In all, I would stay there again if the room was less than 100/night and suffer thru it just for the location, but at 200/night is it just not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just checked out. All 4 lamps were falling apart and .had lowest watt bulbs, no soap,shampoo,or conditioner in the bath. But, the most horrible thing is that the air conditioner came on and off blowing mold, and sounding like a freight train, so you couldn't hear the TV unless th volume was excruciating. No window would open to ventilate the mold, so at 3 a.m., I had to sit up the rest of the night. All of the appointments in the room are outdated, and dusty. The mattress was a big pile of lumps. DON'T GO, as you will be .sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn for 3 days to attend a wedding. The shower had cold water and the TV did not work. When this was reported, the manager responded "well, we have 3 weddings" so there is not enough hot water.
When the TV was reported, they offered to move us to another hotel (10:00 pm). No apologies. I requested a discount since the room was not up to even a cheap hotel standard. The manager said he was not authorized to change the rate. I contacted the owner and could only reach her voice mail, so I left a message with no response. I tried sending an email, but their mail box is full.
So I have paid over $500 for a room with cold water and no TV, damp carpet and a dark bathroom. I have friends who have a home in Highlands and will ensure they never recommend this inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank st f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were in the Highlands for a wedding at a church on Main St. We chose the Highlands Inn because of its central location in this charming 4 block Main St area. As previous reviews said, this Inn is "old" , yes, it was built in 1880!!! We found it charming and the staff was true southern hospitality. My daughter and the wedding party stayed at the more modern and updated Highlands Lodge but we preferred the Inn because of its wonderful central location. Right next door is the best restaurant in town, Peoletti's. Across the street is the Old Edward's Inn ( for twice the price) where you can still use the spa and restaurant services. All the best shopping is within one block in all directions. For a wonderful fresh breakfast and awesome coffee just walk to Buck's Coffee a half a block away. We loved our first floor room "48" because we had a wonderful patio with direct access to our car. This was our first trip to the Highlands and if I come back I would try to get the same room.

Room Tip: First floor rooms open up to a nice patio. You can park on the side street and access the rooms from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It had been a couple of years since staying at the Highlands Inn but will not be that long again! Quaint room with a nice private balcony and the staff was excellent. Very "laid back" atmosphere and feels almost like a large Bed and Breakfast (meant as a compliment!) Nice to walk right out to the wonderful shops and restaurants. Treat yourself and stay here. Each room you choose is a unique experience.

Room Tip: Front rooms face main street and share a large balcony with rockers and you can socialize with other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZardozGreenvilleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Property: Highlands Inn
Address: 420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing