We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlands Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent two nights at the Highlands Inn while in town for a family wedding. My room was very comfortable and a nice change from a hotel room. I had a great balcony that overlooked a lovely rock garden offering a relaxing atmosphere. The staff was friendly and eager to help in any way and breakfast was wonderful as well. I would definately stay there again and hope to do just that in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: See the website for pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Cute room in old hotel. However, if you depend on wifi go elsewhere. Good location right downtown. Friendly staff. Breakfast with good selections included. Coffee maker in room didn't work, but coffee available after 6am in lobby.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rntmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just left from a wonderful, comfortable and cozy stay at The Highlands Inn. My attic room had three windows which let in light and cool mountain air. I overlooked main street which was nice. The management were all very helpful and polite. I felt safe each night coming in alone and staying by myself. After three nights I hated to leave my cute room. Shower was great, lots of hot water, nights are quiet.... No complaints, would stay again and recommend this for everyone!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 34...just picked it from the pictures online. I thought that was a nice way to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gailnatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently celebrated our 50th anniversary at the Highlands Inn in Highlands,NC. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Rock Garden. The room was very nice, the breakfast was excellent and the staff was wonderful. We parked our car and never started it until we checked out. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet step back in time.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the first floor, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c0mmanderray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is always a treat to visit historic buildings and especially to eat or sleep in them. The rooms, dining and lounge areas of the Highlands Inn were gracious and welcoming. My cousins delighted in checking out the many antiques. Highlands Inn has preserved the old with the cleanliness and many comforts we enjoy of the new, not to mention the nightly cookies. The staff was personal, great and the luncheon provided for the baby shower was so very nice.

The Inn is a Heavenly Small Historic Hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GranMaryJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

overpowering mold smell. we decided to bail on this place and eat the cost rather than stay two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank j355ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great place! Room was fantastic! Loved the porch and views of the garden. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MichaelB931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#7 of 7 in Highlands
101 reviews
22 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Address: 420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range: $161 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing