We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay in Oak Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Conyers, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay in Oak Cottage”
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We shared the Oak Cottage with our close friends during a long weekend in Highlands. By no means fancy, the two-bedroom, two-bath cottage was comfortably appointed and very clean. The Oak had a full kitchen and a common area for dining and conversation. It was the perfect "home away from home" for us because we really wanted to spend time with our friends and avoid searching for and spending lots of time in restaurants. Luckily, the super market is just two minutes away in a shopping center. The center also has a Subway, about the only "fast food" in town.

The path to the cottage is a bit spongy and has about twenty steps (down and up) before you get to the porch and rocking chairs. Guests with physical disabilities will want to choose another cottage or stay in the lodge. Also, the Oak is about 100 feet from Dillard Road, but traffic noise was never a problem. In all, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Cozy and warm
  • Disliked — The pathway
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of the kitchen - family dining out in Highlands will be expensive.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    86
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
73
92
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tampa bay, fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We had a cedar lodge room and the pine cottage here. The lodge is modern with high beam ceilings(at least on the 2nd floor), gas fireplace and a balcony. It was very nice. The pine cottage is their nicest and is on its own lake with a deck and rocking chairs. It also had a gas fireplace, 2 bedrooms and a jacuzzi. The cabins are a little more rustic, but are nicely done. We sat out at the pavillion every night making roaring fires in the outdoor fireplace even though it was cold out. We come back here every year we like it so much.

  • Liked — the outdoor fireplace and breakfast
  • Disliked — road noise in the cedar lodge
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank surfpunk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Looked for a relatively inexpensive place to stay in Highlands, NC over Labor Day weekend. Highlands is relatively expensive, but since we're not so particular, we looked for a moderately priced place.

Was pleasantly surprised at Mitchell's Lodge. Stayed in the Cedar Lodge, Room 24, a corner room, rustic looking, but very comfortable. Log furniture with two queens, kitchenette, a balcony overlooking the grounds, a wonderful indoor hot tub that was privately reserved only, a beautiful pavillion overlooking a lake, and for those staying in the winter has a fireplace. Our room also had a fireplace. Unfortunately, it didn't get cold enough to have a fire.

Service was great. The staff could not have been more helpful, very generous with their time. Nice continental breakfast, basic, but fine. The location was great, right around the corner from downtown Highlands, and close to waterfalls, hiking, great, great restaurants. Try Paoletti's and Lakeside.

  • Liked — conventience
  • Disliked — beds could have been more comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — contact them directly
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We were a bit disappointed in our "suite" which had a jacuzzi tub in the kitchen. Also, the haridrayer did not work and the quilts on both beds were torn. In addition, the mattresses were too soft, the TV was next to the ceiling and a large piece of furniture practically blocked the entrance into the room (Room 21). For the price, I thought it was lacking and we will not return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scout1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Mitchell's Motel has been a favorite of our family since the 1950's. We were surprised by a spring snowfall that completely covered the gound and closed down the parkway! This was a nice plus since we live in Florida. The addition of the 'lodge' with fireplaces, hot tubs and kitchenettes made Mitchell's a must stay while visiting the Smokie Mountains. Mitchell's is a family owned and operated business. The desk is run by a caring and considerate staff. Al (the owner) is usually on hand to answer questions about the area. Photo albums are also available in the office to learn the history of the area and to see construction of the new addition. The breakfast is very nice and also complimentary. The office and breakfast room have a large fireplace and plenty of reading material. If you are looking for a spotless place to spend the night, Mitchell's is the place for you. Rates are reasonable. I suggest getting on their e-mail list for specials throughout the year.

Linda and Steve
Jacksonville, Florida

Stayed April 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank BAIYA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 20, 2004

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Mitchell's for a long weekend and it was great! If you are looking for fancy luxury, it's not that. But it was just wonderful. For us it was like going back in time. It was very peaceful. An escape from reality. The setting was just perfect. It was very rustic with a stream running behind the lodge to listen to at night with your window open. Yes, you felt so safe that you could leave your windows open and your car unlocked. They have an outdoor, enclosed, private jaccuzi that you can reserve. You had free breakfast and an outdoor pavallion with a fire place with rocking chairs and tables to eat at. There is also a swing by the pond to enjoy. It was very romantic to sit on the porch at night and smell the fireplaces or enjoy the jaccuzi or make a fire in the pavallion.. The staff was very friendly. The only complaint we had was that our fitted sheet kept coming off the mattress. I would like to suggest that they just use flat sheets instead. We loved it and can't wait to go back. We have been reminiscencing ever since we got back home.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 4, 2004

This was definately the highlight of our trip. We were not impressed with the town & I was ready to turn back for home until we checked in to Mitchells Lodge. It was so homey & welcoming. We got unpacked & curled up in front of the gas fireplace & spent quality time together. We got the room with the full kitchen so were able to cook our meals in the room (fully equipped with pots & pans, utensils, etc.) which was nice. Jacuzzi made it that much more relaxing. Everything was very quiet--you could sit out on the back deck & listen to little stream run by. Continental breakfast in the AM was great & they were a great help in trying to find us something to eat in the evenings.Although I may not be back to Highlands, I loved Mitchells Lodge~~It looked a lot nicer than A LOT that we drove by on the way up!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.8 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#4 of 7 in Highlands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages

Property: Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Address: 264 Dillard Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-6672
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages is nestled by a small mountain stream and lake only 2 blocks from Main Street in Highlands, NC. Accommodations include a secluded lob cabin with fireplace, kitchen and Jacuzzi overlooking a small mountain lake, to a suite with some of the same amenities located in the Cedar Lodge, the newest building on the property. If you want a great rate, try one of the Standard Rooms. Free wireless internet access, free continental breakfast on the weekends. We hope to see you soon. "It's Like Coming Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Lodge And Cottages
Mitchell`s Lodge & Cottages Hotel Highlands
Mitchells Hotel Highlands
Mitchells Motel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing