We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Highlands Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Pleasant Highlands Hideaway”
Reviewed December 31, 2008

While my favorite hotel in Highlands is still the Old Edwards Inn, I recently spent the night with my family at nearby Mitchell's Lodge (at half the price). Our adjoining rooms (#25 & #26) were in the more recently renovated section and each featured two double beds, gas fireplace, kitchenette, porch with rocking chairs, and beamed, cathedral ceilings. The bathrooms were very basic, but spotless. We enjoyed the do-it-yourself, complimentary breakfast in the lobby and the outdoor pavilion with roaring fire in the chilly evening. Sometimes it is nice to forgo the fancier, full-service hotels for a country retreat with laid-back logic.

My only less-than-glowing review would be that the bedding seemed a little dated. (I prefer crisp, white linens to country quilts). Other than that, I think this hotel is a great value for the area with a charming mountain style and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms with fireplaces, the location close to town
  • Disliked — The beds and bedding felt dated
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bouquet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    86
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
73
92
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My husband and I need a quick getaway from everyday life and I went online and found Mitchell's. We were very happy with our beautiful room and smiling faces at the Lodge. The sweet front desk made our stay memorable. We loved sitting by the pond and forgotting our everyday troubles . Great place!!!

  • Liked — The beautiful room and the small pond
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KRTSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We booked 3 rooms for a family reunion. Although we have been to Highlands many times, we had never stayed at Mitchell's and decided to give it a try. First, the photos on the website a little deceptive. There is a nice outdoor pavillion with tables and chairs that looks over a small pond/lake. Our rooms were in the older motel part of the property where you park in front of the rooms. The rooms are very dated with wood paneling and old carpeting. The bathroom is strictly 1960s with old counters and tubs, but perfectly clean and efficient. Our room (14) had a fully furnished kitchen, fridge, toaster, microwave, utensils, etc. There are rooms inm the adjoining "lodge" and 4 cottages. The cottage at the back of the property near the pond looked very nice and private. Breakfast was minimal, a few choices of breads and muffins, cereal. My complaint would be that they didn't open up for breakfast until at least 7:30, some of us are early risers. Accomodations in Highlands can be pricey...so all in all, I would say that Mitchell's is good for what you pay and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — proximity to Main Street, price, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — late breakfast, not much selection of foods
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrauers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I just stayed in one of their standard queen bedrooms and thought the place was old and tired, smelled mildewy, and needs a major update in decor and room amenities. They have a very professional website with lots of nice pictures, which are deceiving and do not tell the whole story. I thought the place was worth about $40.00 per night, which is nowhere near the price I paid. I will not return or recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dgatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed in a cottage. It was clean and well maintained. We had a great stay. The property is in a good location to explore the area. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryitYoullLikeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

I have stayed in the Highlands many times before, mostly renting a cabin/house close to town, so I was already familiar with Mitchells having passed there many times.

We booked online and it was both fast and efficient. Leaving Atlanta in rush hour traffic- we didn't make it to NC for our one night stay - until about 2 hours after expected. The office was still open and there were plenty of people still out and about in town and at Mitchells.

We booked one room - 2 double beds in the main part of the lodge. Paid $81.00 total booking directly through their We site.
Our room was clean and comfie. Granted the bathroom was the size of a small closet - shower only - and yes, yes, yes, this place is older and rustic - but they both advertise this to be the case and it becomes part of the charm of staying at Mitchells overall.

Compared to the ridiculous fees you pay at other hotels in the area - which many are just as old and are NOT any nicer as far as linenes, bathrooms, etc.- than Mitchells - this place is a steal.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

We stayed in one of the cabins/cottages with our 3 boys after a backpacking trip. We probably didn't see Highlands or Mitchell's at the best time as it was raining cats & dogs the whole 24 hours we were there. But I have to say I was disappointed. The jacuzzi (the main reason I booked Mitchells - for all our tired hiking muscles) was steamy & shabby & too bleachy; we didn't stay long. The cabin was adequate but just very plain & cheaply built. For this (good) price I don't need granite countertops, but take a look at the bathroom photos I'm posting -- yick! The staff were adequate but not overly friendly. Would not return. Sorry, Mitchell's fans.

  • Liked — cheap digs, away from the Highlands hooplah, private cabin
  • Disliked — dingey bathroom, underfurnished kitchen, cheap carpets/linens/mattresses
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank finedeziner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.8 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#4 of 7 in Highlands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages

Property: Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Address: 264 Dillard Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-6672
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages is nestled by a small mountain stream and lake only 2 blocks from Main Street in Highlands, NC. Accommodations include a secluded lob cabin with fireplace, kitchen and Jacuzzi overlooking a small mountain lake, to a suite with some of the same amenities located in the Cedar Lodge, the newest building on the property. If you want a great rate, try one of the Standard Rooms. Free wireless internet access, free continental breakfast on the weekends. We hope to see you soon. "It's Like Coming Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Lodge And Cottages
Mitchell`s Lodge & Cottages Hotel Highlands
Mitchells Hotel Highlands
Mitchells Motel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing