We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dinning Experience!”

Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 5th Street
Description: Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Wolfgang's is the recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 800 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. . "Our State" magazine named Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County. Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Elected Member of Academy of Chefs Certified Executive Chef Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year and Chaine des Rotisseurs.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Dinning Experience!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have eaten at Wolfgang's every visit I have had to Highlands and it never fails to amaze! The dinning experience is just high class all the way! If you don't want to have a full meal you can always just stop in for a delicious appetizer and glass of wine at the bistro too!
Chef Wolfgang also has a wide variety of options on his menu, I am a personal fan of the pecan shrimp! The orange molasses sauce that comes with them is nothing short of amazing!
Well worth the trip, can't wait to visit NC again so I can go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    120
    48
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sapphire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seating”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We recently had dinner here. We made reservations for four, but two members of our party informed us about three hours ahead that they were ill and could not come. We got to the restaurant and told the person (apparently a manager) about the situation. He looked gruff and seated at a small table for two. We noticed during dinner that several tables with four seats had just two people sitting. It was not convenient for us to call ahead in the short time available since we were at the cinema.

The appetizer was good, but the entree was average.

We give three stars because of the seating situation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texanHighlands_NC, Owner at Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I am sorry about your dining experience with us. When you came in we had a round table for you that seats 4 – 6 guest. The table cannot seat two. The only table we had available at that point was a table for 2 guests. We hope you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsbrook
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed for the hype”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

For all the praise, we are disappointed. The room was about like an Applebee's. Wooden walls and ceiling. Trout Oscar had been prepared way in advance and reheated. Rolls were store bought... Caesar salad was whole stems of romaine, drizzled with dressing and a lone anchovie on the side of the plate. Not what we had hoped for at all...
Go to the Wine Garden at Madison's...excellent Caesar salad with grilled trout.. Amazing cobbler. Top ranked serve staff...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank westswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great food, superb service”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

First, I must mention that rarely do you get to experience service where the timing is perfect, the attention is on-point, and you never have to say, "where is that wait-person?". But our service experience at this restaurant was perfect! I had venison tenderloin that was perfectly prepared, and my husband had veal weiner-schnitzel that was also excellent. I can heartily recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJ972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT Restaurant”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This should be number 1 in Highlands. We ate there several times, and enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere each time. If you go to Highlands, you have to go to Wolfgangs for a Great expierence.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing