We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 5th Street
Description: Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Wolfgang's is the recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 800 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. . "Our State" magazine named Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County. Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Elected Member of Academy of Chefs Certified Executive Chef Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year and Chaine des Rotisseurs.
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This fantastic restaurant never disappoints. Whether it be an early dinner in the Bistro of chilled Caesar salad, baby lamb chops, or braised short ribs with mashed pots and collards, or from the dinner menu, the trout, the lamb, the steak, or "The Tomahawk Chop with Lobster"! Hubby and I had this wonderful special last night and I can't find words to express how wonderful it was. The presentation is so impressive, Chef Wolfgang comes tableside to cut the meat off the bone and prepare the lobster tail.Adrian is an excellent server( as are all the staff) and as always, Robbie Lang provides the best experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    113
    48
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“German atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Being in the North Carolina mountains was a pleasure. Finding a great German restaurant in this small town was quite a surprise. My wife had their trout dinner; I decided on their "German sampler" -- what a treat. We've been in Germany, eaten in their restaurants. We know what authentic German food should taste like ~~ so does Wolfgang ! The meal was excellent. Even the china - real German. Worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong eating here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is the second time we have eaten here-we came here 2 yrs. ago for a weekend and could not wait to return. I had the beef short ribs-again. They were the best and even thought they have a choice of 1 or 2 ribs I do not know how anyone could eat 2 of them. My husband had the trout and it was flavorful. The service here is great. It s a cool evening, so we ate inside, thought it is open to the outdoors. For a Wednesday night and before the season starts, it was still pretty busy. It is worth the trip just to have a meal here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paulav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“A Highlands must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a Highlands must! The atmosphere is quiet and intimate yet fun. They have a great wine list. I had the crab cakes while my friend had a wonderful steak. Both dished were very flavorful. If you are in the Highlands area - eat here. When the weather is nice they have great outdoor dining too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect Rehearsal Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I had our Rehearsal Dinner at Wolfgang's in early March 2014. We had 97 guests so we took over the entire restaurant/bar and fit perfectly. We were able to have pre-dinner cocktails both outside and in the back bar area. We then moved into the restaurant/main bar for dinner. The atmosphere was ideal for a Rehearsal Dinner in the mountains - romantic, intimate and elegant - which was impressive considering our number of guests! More importantly, the food was phenomenal. Our friends/family are still taking about how amazing the food was - from the delicious appetizers (pecan-crusted shrimp, lamb pops) to the entrees (perfectly cooked filet - medium rare is what we requested and fresh fish topped with crabmeat and béarnaise sauce) to the dessert (strawberries Romanoff - first time most guests tried this and it was a huge hit!). The food and service we received were both off the charts. My husband and I have been to a ton of weddings and rehearsal dinners (as have our guests). Everyone thought our Rehearsal Dinner was one of, if not the, best Rehearsal Dinners they've experienced. It's never easy to pull off a group meal - but Wolfgangs did it flawlessly. The evening was just what we wanted and we couldn't be happier. Plus we loved working with Mindy, Wolfgang and Robbie! The 3 of them were amazing in helping create a perfect evening for us. I've planned a ton of events so I'm not the easiest customer (high expectations) - but they were great and went above and beyond in helping create the evening we wanted. Many thanks to Wolfgang, Mindy, Robbie and all of the staff!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing