We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding restaurant in Highlands”

Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 5th Street
Description: Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Wolfgang's is the recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 800 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. . "Our State" magazine named Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County. Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Elected Member of Academy of Chefs Certified Executive Chef Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year and Chaine des Rotisseurs.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding restaurant in Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wonderful food and the service is excellent. Wolfgang and Mindy are wonderful friends and are so kind to host an annual "Welcome Back" event for the Church of the Incarnation in Highlands. The food is probably the best in Highlands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    113
    48
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, NC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice splurge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I ate there on a rainy night in December. Some restaurants were closed so this one was very crowded. The food was excellent- we split the braised beef short ribs with garlic mashed potatoes and collard greens. I don't know how anyone could eat an entree of this by themselves. M only complaint is we were seated at the back of the restaurant where the lighting was very dim. A fireplace flickered off and on (apparently heat controlled). It was very difficult to read the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stems22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot in Highlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had our anniversary dinner there a couple of weeks ago and had the table right in front of the roaring fire which was lovely. The staff were attentive and the food was good. We had the trout 2 ways and it was divine. They brought us a complimentary dessert of apple strudel which was equally yummy. Very friendly and casual but with sophisticated food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Highlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've been to Wolfgang's twice, and both experiences have been very good to outstanding.

I believe the ambiance to be the best in the Highlands, the service has been very good both times, the sommelier is outstanding and humorous, and the food is also very good.

I've had the venison and Chateaubriand, and both were well prepared and tasted very good. The wine selection is also outstanding.

I've dined at Madison's and Lakeside Restaurant, and do believe Wolfgang's was the best of the three.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeus1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Got engaged there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I highly recommend Wolfgang's to anyone going to the Highlands. I proposed there and couldn't have asked for a better experience. They worked with me on every detail and everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating.

The food and wine selection were great and we tried several desserts which were all delicious. The staff and management were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They walked us through the menu and helped us pick out a great meal and an excellent bottle of wine. It was the perfect venue because the setup is great for group meals or an intimate evening. Some family came in as a surprise and gave their congratulations before we ate our meal and the set up was perfect for it.

I had a fantastic experience and can't thank everyone there enough for making it such a special night. I will definitely go back next time I am there and tell everyone I know to stop by if they are in the area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing