We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown Highlands Restaurant”

Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 5th Street
Description: Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Wolfgang's is the recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 800 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. . "Our State" magazine named Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County. Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Elected Member of Academy of Chefs Certified Executive Chef Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year and Chaine des Rotisseurs.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great downtown Highlands Restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wolfgangs is a different place to go! The bar area is separated from the restaurant and you are bound to meet some great personalities there! The food is delicious and the service is with a smile. A special atmosphere for special people. And Wolfgang is really nice!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animalguru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texanHighlands_NC, Owner at Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for review. Look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    117
    48
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Highlands Experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Family dinner with adults & kids - we all received special attention. Staff was gracious & accommodating even though we did not have Saturday night reservations. Food was excellent from the beef short rib, duck & sausage chowder, trout and pasta. Great wine selection with prices to suit all. An excellent experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Popadoupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant to Remember!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are looking for a Restaurant in the Highlands, NC with the flair of "hometown", that has excellant food, with excellant service, then you don't need to look any further. Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro in Highlands, NC has it all. The ambiance of the restaurant is warm and inviting. The Host, Robbie, was very friendly and quickly took care of us, even without a reservation. The menu had something for everyone. In fact, they serve a Hummus Du Jour with grilled flat bread; "spicy cilantro lime hummus" that is just out of this world. They have a variety of hummus depending on day and season, but this is the best I have ever had. I am a Vegan/Vegetarian. I have eaten alot of hummus, but this was the best I've ever eaten. In fact I went back the next day to order some to take home and was sad to know they only served that variety on Fridays. I still ordered the red pepper hummus which was also wonderful. Not only is the food great, everyone is so nice and so accommodating to whatever your needs are. If you haven't eaten there, you have missed out on a great restaurant in Highlands, NC. I would recommend it to anyone. It just enhanced the experience we had in the mountains. We will definitely eat at Wolfgan's Restaurant & Wine Bistro again on our next trip to the Highlands, NC. Jeff and Sandra Steele

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Jewel In Highlands”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is truly amazing. Not only is the food absolutely delicious, but the plates also look like works of art!! Great atmosphere and friendly, professional wait staff, obviously excellent chefs, what more can you want in a restaurant! Now I have another reason to visit Highlands beside shopping!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“This Wolfgang is no schmuck!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

For some reason I cringe a little at anything called Wolfgang's!!! Not here. This place is truly a highlight of the Highlands and any incidental confusion with any other Wolfgang should be forgotten. It is rare in a small town to find fabulous food with a truly professional wait staff but it is true here and every part of our dining experience was top class. Of course Highlands NC is NOT your typical small town and the diners here on a winter night have a decidedly clubby feel and that air of confidence that comes from frequently rubbing shoulders with dollar bills. Wolfgang manages to create haute cuisine food without the miniscularity of portions associated with high cuisine. My lamb loin was deliciously melting and semi rare, my companion pronounced her crabcake and pecan shrimp the best ever. I had started with an inventive curried spinach cream soup worthy of attempts to recreate at home. Shared delicious Bavarian mousse. Must commend our server Sonny. Charming and professional. So often a meal is ruined by poor service but here the service matched the high standards of the food. THIS is the way dining should be!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing