We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow was I ever wrong”
Review of Wild Thyme Gourmet

Wild Thyme Gourmet
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Dinning Options: Lunch & Dinner,
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wow was I ever wrong”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were visiting Highlands as a family group, nine of us. It was past lunchtime and everyone was hungry and cranky. We were walking around town in separate groups trying to find a place to eat together.
My sister went into Wild Thyme and found that we could be seated together and made us all follow her in. I was quite unhappy...I thought it would be pretentious, not very good, and we would be there for three hours.
WRONG! First of all, our server was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. Second, all the food was excellent, and being a large group we ordered a large variety of items. And third, all the food came out quickly especially considering the size of our party.
I left the restaurant a lot happier than when I went in, and I would certainly eat there again if I ever was back in Highlands, NC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    248
    52
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a surprisingly lovely evening here on a Sunday. A first rate, well priced wine list and a lovely meal. The staff were pleasant but unobtrusive. We sat outside and the environment was just lovely. The entire experience was much nicer than I had expected.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining. Dog friendly.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had reservation for 8pm, but live music earlier in the evening set all tables behind... we ended up waiting about 45 minutes for our table. That being said, I had quite possibly the most perfectly prepared trout in my experience. The entire meal was very good and it was nice to be able to sit outside with our pup. All in all, it was worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TarheelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I decided to try this very busy spot for lunch. From all the activity, we expected a wait; but we were seated inside within five minutes. Service was friendly and efficient from the moment we walked in the door. Our lunch arrived very quickly. My husband thought his salmon BLT and chilled rice salad were wonderful. I had picked the spinach salad; and though it was very tasty, I couldn't help eyeing some very other very tasty looking dishes coming out of the kitchen, such as daily specials of mushroom soup and quiche.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gafarmgirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another good dinner at Wild Thyme”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Wild Thyme moved from a small and somewhat out of the way location to Main Street about two years ago, and it seems to have become one of the most popular restaurants in Highlands. We have been eating at Wild Thyme for several years, and we went there this year on our first night in Highlands. Both of us ordered the Grouper special, and it was very nicely prepared. The old location actually was closer to our B&B, but we drove to the new place in about five minutes. Our waiter did a nice job, and while we didn't arrive until 8:30 pm, the place was still pretty full.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Thyme Gourmet also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wild Thyme Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing