We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Chef in the NC Mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Thyme Gourmet

Wild Thyme Gourmet
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dinning Options: Lunch & Dinner,
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Chef in the NC Mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family has been dining in Highlands NC for 24 years...and the new location of Wild Thyme Restaurant on Main St confirmed they are a TRUE 5-star tasting! The entire 4 course meal was off the charts good. Even my daughters who can be picky eaters loved the menu choices.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    233
    49
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refreshing Change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have eaten at Wild Tyme many times over the years. This year they built a beautiful new restaurant on Main Street in the middle of town. The wait staff now wear attractive uniforms which add to the charm of this attractive new restaurant. There is seating inside and outside on the terrace.
The staff was very attentive and the food was superb. I had an onion crusted salmon which was cooked perfectly - crisp outside and moist inside. My wife had a duck dish which she said was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbaum6932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere but delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We were in shorts and looking for a casual place to eat. We also had a large group so expected to just have to grab pizza or a sandwich. Thankfully, the Old Edwards staff pointed us here. People were dressed both casually and more dressy. The food was an A+, great wine list and very attentive service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoveFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first trip to Highlands for a much needed R&R. Chose this after reading numerous great reviews from multiple sources. From the outside a very unassuming restaurant on touristy Main St. The outside dinning was almost empty and the front bar was the same. We'd wondered if we had made a mistake. However, when we entered the main dinning room it was packed and everyone seemed to be having a wonderful time. A bit noisy but we would rather have our fellow dinners enjoying their dinner than dine in a tomb.

The food lived up to the descriptions, American with and Asia in fluence. We share a wonerful interpretation of fried green potatoes. As southerners you can't fake this. My wife had the Potenta with Provencal Vegetable Ragu and Grilled Shrimp. I had the Shrimp and Scallops with carrots and snap peas in a lemon dill and caper cream over puffed pastry. Both were very well executed, with a wonder blend of flavors that were bright, clean and not over powering. We finished with a Tiramasu that would rival some of the best we've had in Italy.

With a crowded and busy room one could expect a service that could have been a bit slow. That was not the case. Our server was a master of the menu and seemed to have a well timed internal clock. Dished were served with little down time, wines were served with great dispatch and we were well attended with out being fussed over. Our complements Mama Deb. Her 15 years of experience made for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aikendinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtg2008, Manager at Wild Thyme Gourmet, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, we are always trying our best to make everyone feel like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Asked To leave”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

In May, 2013, my wife and I met my sister, her husband, daughter and friend in the Highlands, NC. We drove from Atlanta and my sister drove from East Tennessee. We planned to visit waterfalls in the area and have lunch. We picked Wild Thyme because we have eaten there before and the food is good. We were at the end of our day and went to the restaurant for a late lunch. We were at a table that sits six people. The food was good as was the service. I paid the bill and we all were talking and about ready to leave when the manager or owner came to our table and asked us to leave because there were people waiting for out table.

I have never been asked to leave because people are waiting for a table. We all could not believe the rudness of this person. We angrily left soon thereafter. I am not sure that we will ever eat there again because of the rudness of the manager/owner. In Europe, once you are at a table, it is yours until you decide to leave. Very sad to be treated that way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Woofie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtg2008, Manager at Wild Thyme Gourmet, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch, as for asking you to help us out because we have a line out the door its just a courtesy to those waiting as you would feel if you were standing in the door . We estimate a waiting time based fairly on those already eating having plenty of time to enjoy their meal. NEVER have we asked anyone to help us out that hasn't been here for more than a reasonable amount of time for lunch! There is a terrace outside that has plenty of public room for those who want to sit around and catch up on the times. As for having a table till your ready to leave think about this, your server has 3 tables to earn their living on and if you choose to sit on the table that he needs to turn to earn his salary, you are being very selfish and unreasonable to them as well as those who also would like to eat. We find that our customers are always willing to Help us out as sometimes time does get away from us. So I truly apologize for offending you as all we try to do is be fair to ALL who want to eat here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Thyme Gourmet also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wild Thyme Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing