We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Veranda Restaurant

On the Veranda Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 64 West
Description: Fine dining serving Eclectic American Cuisine overlooking scenic lake Sequoyah in Highlands NC
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
283 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I made reservations for 4 with a view of the water. We were greeted by our hostess who escorted us to a table with a view of Lake Sequoyah and the band area. Our waiter was personable and made great suggestions for supper. I had the fresh broiled trout, pecan butter which was the best meal in our week in the Cashiers, NC area. Another member in our party had seared sea scallops over angel hair pasta with ginger scallion sauce which was so wonder he wanted to lick his plate. Two other dishes enjoyed by our party were Veal Scalippini, shallot madeira sauce and shrimp with proscioutto. We were also pleasantly entertained with country band while we ate.
All our meals were excellent, but we had to indulge in dessert. I had the chocolate bourbon pecan pie which was fabulous. Other deserts enjoyed were the Mississippi mud torte with homemade frozen custard, Godiva chocolate creme brulee and the scrumptious Kahlua fudge sundae.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukeanthonywflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    75
    38
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ Very mixed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress Janelle was lovely and made up greatly for a very poor reception. Of the 6 of us there were two nearly inedible trout dishes with stale pecans and a strange and strong wine sauce. The pork chop was tough. However the filet was delicious. With many choices I would go almost any where else

Helpful?
4 Thank juju78028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spectacular Brunch in the Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband treated me to a very special Sunday brunch at this beautiful lakeside restaurant. We had reserved a seat on the veranda earlier in the week and were delighted to find out how lovely the view was. A hummingbird feeder was located right next to the table and it was fun to watch the birds feeding as we ate. The weather was perfect and the outdoor seating was so enjoyable. The veranda was both screened and covered to make it even more comfortable. The view was both beautiful and serene. The brunch special consisted of a choice of soup, mimosa or kir royale cocktail, salad bar with a wide array of delightful choices, and an entree. There were about ten entrees from which to choose. I had poached eggs over sliced prime rib and my husband had the prime rib. We were both delighted with our choices and our server was excellent. The hostess even remembered to wish me a happy birthday both when I arrived and departed. I would be happy to return to this very special restaurant and plan to bring my future out-of-town guests.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLLovestoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spectacular Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

While Madisons was a touch more elegant in atmosphere and service. The food and value here well make up for it. We went for Sunday brunch. It was a gorgeous day and we sat outside with a spectacular view. Brunch comes with mimosa or kir royale, soup, salad bar and entrée. Every single item of food was delish! My husband and I got different soups and both superb. The salad bar has all types of interesting items. My favorite was a pepper (one I had never heard of before) and rice dish. I had Cajun eggs benedict and my husband shrimp and grits, both where, exceptionally good. Our service was good. The price was 42 dollars. We both thought this was very good for all it included. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gagrl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our 1st time at this establishment. Our party of 6 arrived Sunday at 11 am. There were only 2 cars in the lot. Upon entering the restaurant, there were 3-4 tables occupied. You can sit inside or outside on the deck. We chose inside. It did fill up around 11:45 am. The Sunday Brunch is $26 which includes salad bar (very good), soup, a choice of entrée (6-8 choices) and a mimosa. We had the twin crab cakes which were served with 2 poached eggs and veggies. The crab cakes had plenty of lump crab meat but the eggs were a little over done. The Canadian bacon was also good, The bar doesn't open until noon. There is a Bloody Mary bar where you can add what ever you like to your drink. Our waiter was very efficient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to On the Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing