We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting and service”

On the Veranda Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 64 West
Description: Fine dining serving Eclectic American Cuisine overlooking scenic lake Sequoyah in Highlands NC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The view from the verandah, live piano music, and the amazing attention and menu recommendations from our server, Gregory, made this anniversary dinner truly enjoyable. Even though it's just a short drive from downtown, the setting makes you feel like you are nestled deep in Highlands' natural landscape, which, after all, is the best part about being Highlands in the first place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0urfriendlyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    77
    38
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“On the Veranda Restaurant”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I went with a group of 5 to On the Veranda in Highlands NC. We had reservations and were seated promptly. Great atmosphere and lovely mountain décor. The service was excellent and the chief even visited the table to go over specials. The drinks were gracious and the whole place had a comfortable feel. The lamb and steaks were excellent - I chose the snapper and was not delighted - not as much flavor as I had anticipated. All the sides were wonderful and the group had a fine time. The entertainer added to the special evening and the entire party had a memorable time. hold you breath when you get the bill - as everything in The Highlands it was quite expensive. I would definitely return - next time when it is still light so that we could enjoy the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday "On the Veranda"”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here to celebrate my 60th birthday. Our table overlooked the lake and we were greeted with glasses of champagne. I cannot say enough about Billy, our waiter. He gave us the very best service that my wife and I can recall ever having. He has great knowledge of food and wine and kept in touch discreetly throughout our meal. Billy made our dinner a memorable experience. The food was delicious and the ambiance very warm and friendly. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 53moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We go every year in Oct to OtV for either our anniversary or hubs bday. This year we had the great fortune of getting Billy. The food is always excellent, all 12+ years we've been (the braised short ribs - oh my!!) which is what keeps us coming back. But Billy is what prompted me to actually put in a review. He made an already special event all the more special. He guided us, joked with us, and, corny enough, made us feel like family that night. OtV is great all on its own but with Billy on board....it just doesn't get any better than this!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KassieHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My sisters and I ate at On the Verandah with our mom and we all agreed the food was wonderful! The Lobster Picatta was amazing. We ate there at night, so we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful lake view, but the lights and decor inside were beautiful. It was pretty noisy in the room we were in, but there was a birthday party going on and the table next to us had way too much wine, so that's where the noise came from! Next time we'll just ask to sit in the main room where the piano is! It was the priciest dinner we had in Highlands, but it really was delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to On the Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing