We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great meal”

On the Veranda Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 64 West
Description: Fine dining serving Eclectic American Cuisine overlooking scenic lake Sequoyah in Highlands NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just a great meal”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Seven of us dined at On the Veranda tonight. It was a really nice meal. I had the Pumpkin squash ravioli as an appetizer and it was very nice and sweet. My second was a really exceptional golden beet salad with goat cheese. For my entre I chose the braised lamb shank with cous-cous. Very tender and filling. Our waiter was Gregory who was very knowledgeable and professional. We will definitely return on our next trip to Highlands.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    80
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love the atmosphere at this restaurant!! You can sit on a covered porch right over the water! So beautiful and the food is even more outstanding!! The owner is so friendly and Gregory is probably the best waiter I have ever had! So knowledgeable and friendly! Wonderful evening!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dgallup315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found this Restuarant to be the best Restuarant In Highlands North Carolina. Billy was our waiter he was great. Very knowledgable with the menu. Very knowledgable with the wine pairing. Friendly staff. The food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Lbryant273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See Billy! Great server!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Took friends to Highlands with us this time. Billy was our server and was so enthusiastic about the dishes on the menu that night.All four of us were delighted with our meals. Excellent wine selection. Beautiful fall decorations. The chef came out to chat with us at the end of the evening. All in all a great dining event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good food in a truly special setting...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

O.T.V. can't be beat as far as picturesque locations go. Be sure to ask for the screened in veranda area over looking Lake Sequoia. I strongly suggest reservations.
We have been coming up to Highlands for the last ten or so years and "O.T.V" is always one of our must go places.
The trout is known far and wide. The tomato bisque soup also is to die for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to On the Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing