We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good brunch”

On the Veranda Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 64 West
Description: Fine dining serving Eclectic American Cuisine overlooking scenic lake Sequoyah in Highlands NC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not so good brunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were very disappointed with the food for the price you pay. And the service was very poor. The hostess was very friendly, and we enjoyed the ambiance and piano player. A nice setting with a lot of potential. I would suggest a very strong front and back wait team. Our server was a little rude and food took a long time. I would suggest going elsewhere for brunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlantaFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    80
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Treat”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

On the Veranda restraunt is on the top of our list when we visit Highlands. Our server was excellent and answered all our questions about wines and dishes. The filets ordered by two in our party were perfectly done, and the Lobster Picatta was absolutely delicious. We plan on returning next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jingle32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

On the Verandah Restaurant never disappoints. The veal entree special was EXCELLENT! Service, food, and atmosphere were great, as usual!!

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Service was very poor. Food was cold, and had very little flavor.
Beautiful outdoor porch setting on a lake, just very mediochre food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food, appetizing presentation, beautiful view”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been to On The Veranda multiple times over the past five years. It has always been a delightful and delicious experience. Not only is the food delicious and very well presented, it has a varied menu from local trout to steaks. I had fresh,wild bass from SC on Saturday night. My friends had lobster, fresh trout, fresh shrimp, and steak so the menu was well covered. All offerings were deliciously prepared.
They have an extensive wine list as well as an extensive cocktail and aperitif offerings. A pianist played quietly and pleasantly in the bar. We reserved a table with a full lake view.
The service is excellent and when we asked for some "individualized" preparations they were very accommodating. It is not inexpensive but is worth the quality of food and service...plus you can have a beautiful view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinShoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to On the Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing