We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always wonderful!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

It's always such a pleasure to walk into Old Edwards. They do everything so well. Decor, service, food, spa, every detail down to the frette linens and the molton & brown products. A favorite retreat!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodeats00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We really appreciate your posting on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    97
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
145
771
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

For my birthday this month, my husband had planned a 3 day get away for me and my best friend! From the moment we checked in, it could not have been more perfect! We were immediately greeted at the door with complimentary glasses of champagne, given a tour of the property with ALL of it's tremendous amenities, then had our belongings waiting for us when we arrived to our suite. What a suite it was! Fireplace was lit, heated bathroom floors were nice and cozy for our feet, a bottle of champagne that had been prepared and waiting for us in the room, and our own private access to the resort pool outside our door! The poolside cabana was wonderful and the service was EXCEPTIONAL! Jonathan always made sure we were well taken care of while at the pool. Then our spa treatments were fabulous! Amanda was my masseuse, and I honestly never wanted to leave! I was so relaxed, I had no problem telling people how old I was! Our dinner at Madyson's was wonderful, and once again, the service and food was exceptional. They even had me the best birthday dessert! Needless to say, we have already planned her birthday weekend and next years trip already! Thank you Old Edwards and my husband for giving me a birthday getaway I will NEVER forget!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Reading your review made me want to stop what I was doing and go experience all that! It sounds like you got a full sampling of all the wonderful things at Old Edwards, and how great of your husband to give you a getaway with a friend! We're so glad that it was with Old Edwards. It sounds like you're starting a birthday tradition with us, so we look forward to celebrating your next one. Happy birthday to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying at OEI during the Easter weekend! From the moment we arrived at the inn until the time we checked out we were in heaven! The staff is so friendly and welcomed us as if they had known us for years!

Our room was simply gorgeous with every extra luxury you could ever want. We had heated towel racks, heated floors, 8 shower heads, a separate living room with a beautiful fireplace and a private balcony! The decor was carefully selected and you could feel that each piece if furniture probably had an amazing story behind it!

We thoroughly enjoyed a couples massage at the spa and ended up meeting a beautiful couple that we ended up spending the evening with over dinner and drinks! When we informed the staff that we were adding to our existing reservation, they didn't bat an eye and was actually thanked with a cocktail on the house for bringing our new friends!

We enjoyed Madison's for both dinner and Easter brunch and was not disappointed with anything! The reviews for this restaurant speak for itself and is with every penny and any amount of waiting to get A table though I strongly recommend making a reservation to avoid any wait.

One of the coolest things I enjoyed that I thought was simple yet appreciative was the constant availability if getting a bottle of water, or an ice cream (dove bars! YUM!) or a piece of fruit from any of the guest services desk located at OEI. It was very cool to see the staff offer a young guest an ice cream and get the approval for their parents....and the Easter celebration for the kids was yet another special detail OEI added.....even though we do. It have little ones, we still enjoyed watching the festivities!

We look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the best rooms for your needs! We asked for a room away from kids with some priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We love reviews that "tell a story" about life at Old Edwards. And you've done just that. What fun reading about your experience here, and how you just rolled with it and met new friends. And thank you for your comments about our staff. We have amazing people that really do care about our guests, and we love it when people notice that. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have stayed at many other high end resorts, and for some reason, they always come up a bit short (see other reviews). I am delighted to finally be able to give an unqualified two thumbs up for a visit, in this case the Old Edwards Inn. You have the sense the whole time that the management and staff "gets it". From the champagne welcome, to the friendly hellos from all the staff, to the top notch rooms, facilities and restaurants, all the way to the departure bag. If I am paying the premium to stay in a high end resort, I expect pretty near perfection, and OEI was pretty darn close. We stayed in one of the Falls Cottage rooms (5615, Rainbow Cottage), and these cottages are apparently relatively new. It was very well designed and thought out, with high quality finishes, lighting and furnishings everywhere. Our cottage was standalone, in the back of the resort, but it is very quick to access any area of the resort (as well as Mountain Grocer, one of the best takes in Highlands). It was nearby a side street, so on a busy weekend, others might choose a different cottage, but this one was very private with easy access to our car as well as the pool. I would definitely recommend pretty much any of the Falls Cottages to other room types; although I did not see any of the other rooms (Lodge cottages or rooms in the Old Inn for instance), my impression was I am much happier in the newer Falls Cottages. The only possible nit I might have is that I was surprised the bathtub in the room was not a larger spa-style bath, but that was minor compared to the overall feel of the room. Furthermore, the pool and very nice hot tub were 20 seconds away. We also had a magnificent dinner at Madison's, and the breakfast we had at Mountain Grocer (try the French Toast) was great. Wednesday night live music at Ugly Dog Pub was also steps away. . .

Room Tip: Falls Cottages are great - well designed, mountain rustic elegance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you. That is a quite an impressive review coming from someone well-traveled and experienced in high-end resorts. We so appreciate that you noticed all the touches our staff undertakes to make your stay amazing. The Falls Cottages are definitely shaping up to be one of our most popular options! On your next stay, be sure to mention the spa bathtub, because many of the Falls Cottages do include those. Thank you again for your review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our 3 daughters treated us to a week end at the Old Edwards Inn for our Anniversary. From the moment we arrived with our complimentary glass of champagne, we were shown around and then shown to our room by super friendly Jean Paul. The room was beautifully decorated with everything you could ask for, they had even decorated our bed with rose petals, and there is a wonderful aroma in the room from the Oak Leaf diffusers which our loooovely !! The only one negative I would say in the room was the fact that they used paper coffee cups with the Keurig, so much better if china cups were provided.
We spent a relaxing time by the pool which has lovely soft comfy loungers and serve drinks and lunch, the staff are super attentive, especially Jonathan who is a real asset to the staff, such a helpful and attentive person.
We had great facials and pleased with once more helpful staff,
I really can't say enough good comments about the Old Edwards, from the helpful staff to one of the best breakfasts.....amazing biscuits !!! We will return :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for posting your review, and especially for remembering our staff by name. We love sharing those comments. You paint such a beautiful picture of life at Old Edwards, with your comments about the pool and loungers and delicious breakfast. And it's so interesting how something like a wonderful room scent can make a memory. Yes, Oakleaf does a great job in that area! We use all your feedback to continue enhancing the guest experience at Old Edwards, so thank you for suggestions. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I decided to surprise my husband on his 75th birthday with a stay at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa. We had never stayed at the Inn, and could not have been more pleased with the lodging, the dining, and of course the views. I could go on and on about the amenities, nothing was missing.

The Old Edwards is a vacation stay not to be missed. Upon entering we were made to feel like royalty and our suite in the Lodge had exceptional views, with 2 balconys and 2 full baths.....we now feel we should add this feature to our home bedroom!

A MUST is dining at Madison's - oh my, the food was exceptional. My husband has been involved with the dining business, and when he is impressed, it is without a doubt, exceptional!

I must also add that before dinner cocktails in the Hummingbird Bar, was also special experience. It was as if we had stepped back in time, to a beautiful era. The atmosphere was as if we were back in the early 1900's - just beautiful and relaxing. Also, I can't finish this review without mentioning the lovely pool areas and the Spa, wonderful experiences.

Thank you Old Edwards Inn and Spa for giving us unforgettable memories for any occasion.

Room Tip: We loved Room 10 in the original Inn. The newer cottages all looked beatiful. We wanted to be in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your thorough and great review! We are so honored to have participated in such a special occasion... and to make it a memorable one for you. And what an apt description of Hummingbird Lounge. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice place great amenities great restaurant and SPA played golf old edwards golf course beautiful, challenging and majestic. Highlands is a neat town with some unique shopping and dining experiences.

Room Tip: choose the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmptravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We're happy that you enjoyed downtown Highlands, as well as our spa and golf course. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing