We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get away weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the Old Edwards Inn & Spa in Highlands, NC. Every detail of our stay was thought out to insure our satisfaction. Kind of expensive but the service was great for everything we did including the spa. I would recommend this as a "must experience" destination for a couples get away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelPete55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    97
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
145
771
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appling, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visit Old Edwards Inn and Spa every year for my husbands Birthday and or our Anniversary. This is the most relaxing place on earth. The staff is VERY attentive and accomidating. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting to get away for some alone time by your self or with that someone special!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge area are our Favorites!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Happy anniversary! And birthday to your husband! We love our loyal guests and are so happy that you entrust your special times to us. We will continue to make every effort to contribute to your great memories when you come to Highlands. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I whisked my wife off for a fabulous birthday/Valentine's Day Weekend to the beautiful snow covered North Carolina City of Highlands. This 4000 foot elevation hideaway comes complete with small cabin bungalows or lodge rooms with fireplaces, heated bathroom floors, spacious seating areas and a wait staff that offered Downton Abbeyesque style service only with a smile. Madison's, the Michelin four star on-site restaurant was likewise a gem with superb service from staff such as Michael. The spa was heavenly and loaded with exceptional amenities and after shower equal to your room, whirlpool, relaxation rooms, and steamroom. And finally, the Hummingbird Lounge offered the commanding yet playful performance of Atlanta icon Cy Timmons of Cafe Erehwon fame as a means to melt away the remains of the evening as you nursed the fully stocked wine racks of this wonderful Hotel. Great place, great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Wow, what a well-written review! Would you like a marketing job:-) Seriously though, we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay-- and that you were familiar with Cy Timmons. He is a talented treasure, and we are fortunate to have him! We all just want to stop what we are doing and head to Hummingbird on Friday and Saturday evenings to hear him play, sing and entertain. Thank you again for your great review. We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in the original part of the Inn and were upgraded to a suite. The room was appointed very nicely. We especially appreciated the heated bathroom floors.
The service from all the staff was first class and we were even greeted with Champagne upon arrival. The old Inn has a little butler area stocked with extras for guests to enjoy like bottled water, a morning coffee bar and yummy dove bars:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rpzm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the historic inn at Old Edwards. The heated floors are a standard in all our rooms, and they are awesome this time of year! We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
483 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is THE place to stay in Highlands. The service is incredible and the property is beautiful. The only place that might rival their impeccable standards would be the Ritz Carlton on Central Park. We've stayed in many other fine inns and hotels in Highlands but this is our new favorite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your awesome review of Old Edwards! It sounds like you are well traveled with high standards, and we are so glad to have lived up to those. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was such an amazing treat while we were in the area for the weekend! The Inn was beautiful and the Spa treatment was even better! I treated myself to the Hot Spring Stone massage - and it was one of the best treatments I have ever had!! The staff was amazing and Spa area was beautiful!! Would HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Old Edwards and had a great experience in The Spa. We agree about the hot stone massage. There is just something special about having warm river stones on your skin, especially in the cooler months. Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our second and my wife's third trip to Old Edwards Inn. And as usual fabulous. My wife is already planning another. The spa is first class whether getting a massage or just relaxing in the meditation area. Also don't miss entertainment on the weekends in the Library.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're so glad you continue to enjoy your visits to Old Edwards! The Hummingbird Lounge does take on a special vibe on weekend nights when Maestro and Cy Timmons are playing. In summer, we also feature live music in the Wine Garden, which you might have experienced on previous visits. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing