We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST do while you are in the Highlands!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST do while you are in the Highlands!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was such an amazing treat while we were in the area for the weekend! The Inn was beautiful and the Spa treatment was even better! I treated myself to the Hot Spring Stone massage - and it was one of the best treatments I have ever had!! The staff was amazing and Spa area was beautiful!! Would HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Old Edwards and had a great experience in The Spa. We agree about the hot stone massage. There is just something special about having warm river stones on your skin, especially in the cooler months. Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    97
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
144
769
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our second and my wife's third trip to Old Edwards Inn. And as usual fabulous. My wife is already planning another. The spa is first class whether getting a massage or just relaxing in the meditation area. Also don't miss entertainment on the weekends in the Library.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're so glad you continue to enjoy your visits to Old Edwards! The Hummingbird Lounge does take on a special vibe on weekend nights when Maestro and Cy Timmons are playing. In summer, we also feature live music in the Wine Garden, which you might have experienced on previous visits. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary and my 44th birthday at The Old Edwards Inn this weekend and had a blast! When we arrived, the property was covered with snow and looked beautiful with its stone, iron and dark wood architecture. We had a private villa and were catered to from everyone from the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, maintenance, spa and restaurant staff. We've stayed at other Five Star resorts and The Old Edwards Inn rivals the best!

I want to recognize several staff members in particular. Andi is a waitress in The Old Edwards Inn restaurant Madison's. Andi was spectacular! She knew the menu, the wine list and most importantly, she knows people. The chef did make it easier by preparing the best quail dish and best rib eye steak ever! We loved the service and food so much, we came back the net night and ordered the same thing! Andi remembered us and picked up our conversation right where we left off the night before.

I also want to highlight the excellent spa service we received. We got a 80 minute couple's massage. I had Q and my wife had Alexander for our deep tissue massage. It was the best massage either of us had ever had! They actually extended our time to 90 minutes to make sure they hit all the spots!

We are looking forward to our next visit back to our Old Edwards Inn family.

With Gratitude,

Brent Burke

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your remembering our staff by name and also recognizing that it takes a team, many of whom you never see, that work to make your stay special. Thank you for choosing Old Edwards for your anniversary/birthday celebration. We are all very honored to have been a part of it... and to be part of your "family."
Happy 16th/44th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to OEI in early January. We decided to try this instead of Grove Park Inn where we usually go. It is half the drive for us so we felt it would be worth trying. We stayed in one of the newer cottages and it was amazing. It was raining when we arrived and a bellman was waiting to escort us to the lodge with an umbrella. The cottage was cozy and between the fireplace, heated bathroom floor, furnishings and keurig, we were in heaven. Everything was first class and the shower was like none we had seen before. We loved everything about it. The outdoor pool was not open when we were there due to ice on the tent, I think. The spa area is small and crowded. We ate lunch in the spa cafe and it was very good. However, unlike The Grove Park Inn there are not as many options to "hang out" and enjoy the spa. We enjoyed our cottage so much though that we weren't hugely disappointed by the spa. Also, the town does seem to shut down in January and there aren't a ton of dining options but we managed :-) We left incredibly relaxed and can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, marketing director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for posting about your positive stay with Old Edwards. We are glad you were able to experience the new Falls Cottages. Yes, we did have quite a freeze for a couple of days that forced us to close the winter pool. Hopefully you can return in the summer when both pools are open, as that greatly expands the common areas for relaxation around the property, along with the expansive lodge lawn outside of Arts Café and Coffee Shop. I do hope you were shown to the new relaxation solarium on the top floor of the spa. In addition to the Fireside Lounge, the Spa Café, and the Serenity Solarium on the Main Floor, there is an additional solarium on the top floor of the spa with fireplace and wall fountain. In summer there are areas in the spa courtyard for you to relax in as well. Again, we are happy that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed two nights at Old Edwards Inn in Highlands, NC during MLK weekend. It was very cold outside, but very comfortable inside. Our suite was half of a stone cottage, with a large porch, foyer, living room with gas log fireplace, hallway, large bathroom with walk-in shower and Jacuzzi bath, large bedroom, plus a back door -- all in all about 650 sq.ft. We never heard any noise from the other suite of our duplex cottage, and street next to our room was quiet, too. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We received tours of the main building, as well as of the spa area. We did not use the spa services (a little pricey) but did take a swim in the outdoor pool, which was heated and covered by an inflated dome. We dined at the in-hotel restaurant, Madisons, our first night and at the Wild Thyme our second night. We had breakfast at a nearby grocery, Mountain Fresh Grocery -- excellent both days. Separate reviews of each to follow. Had a really good time, highly recommended -- though maybe not during the coldest part of the year in the western mountains of NC. Late Spring or early Fall would be ideal. Sightseeing includes many beautiful waterfalls within easy driving distance.

Room Tip: Our suite in the middle section of the Old Edwards Inn's three square block compound was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barberrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The best place to stay when you need a little bit of unwinding ! We live in the area and that's the best place to go just 15 minutes to paradise , the SPA is amazing. You would think your at an exotic getaway . The rooms are comfy with a fireplace and great living space. The breakfast they offer has its wonderful homemade bread . I love it ! They offer great specials that include food, room and spa treatment . When I need a break from life I go to the OEI.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinglifex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

In more than 50 years of traveling throughout the United States I don't think I have found a better place to stay. The staff there is the primary reason I say this. The amenities are very, very good, beautiful throughout, but their staff excels. From the minute you enter they make your stay a comfortable, warm experience. You want for nothing. We stayed at the Lodge portion there but spent time in the Inn also and found the same attitude throughout. I will definitely be a return visitor!

Room Tip: Liked the cottages at the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Old Edwards. We LOVE when our guests mention our staff as the main reason for their enjoyment. We do put a lot into our facilities and amenities, but we agree-- it is the people that make the difference! Thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing