We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful time at the Spa- the services were first rate, and I loved how comfortable the setting was throughout the Spa. I thought the massage was heaven but the Swedish shower with about a million shower heads was AMAZING. I also really enjoyed the mineral bath, although my husband opted for time in the Quiet Room. The staff were very helpful and made me feel very much at home. Not pretentious, just friendly and competent. A great treat for yourself (or a couple or friends) a really good value for the top rate surroundings, services and amenities. I've had many massages and have been to other spas and this is my favorite by far!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamiejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    101
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
147
789
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were well taken care of by the fantastic staff and thoroughly enjoyed the spectacular surroundings. Terrific spa and one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever played. I would highly recommend the Old Edwards Inn and Spa!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottages behind the hotel, and they were awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I spent three days at the Old Edwards Inn over the holiday break. What a treat! We stayed in the lodge cottages and went to the spa as well. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a suite which was a great way to start our trip! We enjoyed a lovely cottage with a bedroom and small sitting room and a luxurious bathroom. Every member of the staff was so welcoming and friendly and the small details were much appreciated. We will be going back the next chance we get!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying at the Lodge Cottages. They are newer rooms than the inn but would love to try st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPea7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive review and for mentioning our staff. We are so glad to hear you will be back! Luckily, it's a nice quick trip to Highlands from Asheville so perhaps we will see you often.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We chose to go there in the middle of the week in December to take advantage of the lower rates. We stayed in one of the Lodge Cottages and found it wonderful. It was huge with heated tile bathroom floors, fireplace and refrigerator. The outdoor spa was only steps away. We were able to eat in the inn and walk a couple of blocks to downtown Highlands. Nearby are waterfalls and other small towns to visit. There are fine restaurants in Highlands.

Room Tip: The Lodge Cottages are very convenient as you can drive right up to the door. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stems22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Everything was absolutely perfect at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, from the service to the beautiful room. We stayed in the inn itself for one night and will definitely be back. The service was some of the best we've had anywhere and after a long day on the road, being greeted with a glass of champagne during check-in was perfect. Our stay was too short to experience all the property had to offer, so we will try to come back when the weather is warmer. Cozying up to the fireplace in the library while having a drink before dinner was so very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy061_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Located in the center of charming Highlands, Old Edwards Inn is a warm and cozy spot. We stayed in the lodge Christmas Eve and Christmas night. The staff was delightful upon arrival and throughout our visit. The beds are very comfy and pillows fluffy. The bathroom floors are heated. We ate at Madison's on the hotel grounds twice. The food was tasty especially Christmas Day lunch. We spent Christmas evening in the game room and pool, watching movies and relaxing. The hotel spa is clean and inviting. The spa staff is friendly. The products sold and used are top of the line. I highly recommend taking a few days to get away from it all and stay in the remote yet classy Old Edwards Inn.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonomaGrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and that we were able to contribute to a memorable Christmas experience for you! Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Welcoming attentive hospitality always exceeds expectations even after our fifth visit. We chose the Inn at which to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We were delighted to introduce our family to this beautiful friendly venue on Main Street. We enjoy the offer of champagne when we arrive, the butler pantry stocked with complimentary Dove bar ice cream, fruit bowl, and morning coffee. Goody bag at check out. No wonder then that the Inn is designated Preferred Boutique Hotel. Mr. Delany, President , makes it all happen.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. and individually designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linditchka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We really appreciate our loyal guests and are honored to be called your favorite luxurious getaway. Thank you for choosing to spend your 50th anniversary with us! We are so glad that we lived up to your expectations and look forward to all your future visits. Happy 50th!!! And many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Edwards Inn and Spa sits atop the beautiful southwest plateau of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains. The acclaimed European style resort fills several blocks filled with amenities, music, dining venues and individually appointed guestrooms, suites and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing