We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonvile, Fl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish. We stayed in a spa suite for our honeymoon. Heated floors, heated towel racks, gorgeous fireplace and champagne. They treated us like royalty and the chef at Madison's even made us two tiny delicious wedding cakes to celebrate. I'd love to return to this gorgeous property.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk, choose a room in the old Inn or a spa or luxury spa suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for posting about your Old Edwards experience on TripAdvisor. The Spa Suites would definitely be a good choice for honeymooners! Congratulations, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    91
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
143
748
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just returned from 5 days at Old Edwards and it was fabulous! We stayed in the Falls Cottages and they are beyond comfortable. Our room consisted of a king size 4 poster bed, beautiful antique furnishings, fireplace, a refreshment center (with Keurig, complimentary coffee's and teas and refrigerator with complimentary waters) and a marble bath that anyone would envy! The bath area had heated marble floors, a large soaking tub, double vanities with a lighted magnifying mirror, heated towel rack and a large glass enclosed shower. From check in to check out everyone was friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed an afternoon at the Spa. It is the most visually beautiful spa I have had the pleasure of visiting. The treatment was top notch and our lunch in the spa cafe was delicious. Our husbands played the Old Edwards golf course on 2 days and had nothing but praise for the course, clubhouse and personnel.
I wouldn't hesitate for a minute to recommend this lovely resort! Run, don't walk!

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other accomodations, but The Falls Cottages are their newest rooms. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to experience the spa and golf. And that you stayed in the new Falls Cottages! We look forward to hosting you again-- hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I must say, our visit to Old Edwards Inn was superb. The resort is in fabulous shape and offered every amenity we could possibly have wanted. Falls Cottages are the best accommodations we have had anywhere. All the comforts of home is an understatement. The room had a gracious living room area with bedroom adjoining, but the bath was off the charts with the heated floors, large glass shower and deep soaking tub. Just perfect!

We loved having the mineral pool and hot tub right in the complex along with a lovely outdoor fireplace with comfortable seating around the pool area. Perfect for a gathering spot for friends or family. Nice addition to the resort!

The Fitness Center was very nice and clean and the yoga instructor was great though we were novices....she didn't push but rather assisted us with the one hour workout. It was not for sissys!

Lunch in Madison's was delightful. Sorry we didn't get there for dinner but we ran out of days.
The gentlemen working the pool bar were so nice. They made us feel right at home as we waited for our room to be ready. What a nice space and so convenient to all accommodations.

This was truly the Best Birthday ever and the staff at OEI made it special. I will always remember this trip. This was a 2nd stay at OEI and we loved our first experience but this trip was even better.

Many thanks to Richard Delaney and his great staff! We will be back...

Room Tip: We loved Falls Cottages! It was quiet though a little removed from Main Hotel....still a perfect loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefnickbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your birthday with us! It sounds like you had the chance to experience a lot of what we offer at Old Edwards. So glad you enjoyed it and that we could contribute to a memorable birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been full time residents of Highlands for over 25 years and have watched the transformation of The Old Edwards Inn but had never stayed there until a recent anniversary. It was a thoroughly pleasant experience. When making the reservation I mentioned it was our anniversary and it was clear they make a point to tell the staff the reason for our stay. From bellmen to waitstaff to chefs to management, everyone wished us "happy anniversary". Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We love it when guests entrust their anniversary trip with us. So glad we lived up to your expectations. Hope to see you again next year. And, again, happy anniversary:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Highlands or anywhere in the Blue Ridge!!! So historic and well staffed! They are so attentive to every need!!! The rooms are so cozy and have all the old style charm, but total update of everything! Very clean and comfortable! Love the common areas in the inn with the complimentary water, fruit, coffee and yummy Dove bars!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the inn are much cozier and quiet! Loved our little balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgallup315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We love that we're your favorite place in the Blue Ridge. Can't wait to have you back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Had to wait for 4 hours for our room even though the place was empty. When our room was finally ready at 4:30 pm there was no one to show us where it was or bring our luggage. The room was so dusty and dirty it looked like it had not been properly cleaned for a long time. There was black mold around all the a/c vents. The beds were uncomfortable. Lots of broken items in the room including a refrigerator that froze everything inside, TV and phone. We asked them to clean and fix the room and they corrected about half. They knew it was bad because the manager later called to apologize and said the room would be free and gave our daughter a small toy. The rooms are decorated with framed bible quotes and there are books in the room promoting political agendas leaning right. The pool area was nice. The front desk staff was very inexperienced. I would not come back. I've posted a few photos of the dust and black mold.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TAReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. It is standard policy at Old Edwards to escort every guest to their guestroom without inquiring with the guest whether they wish to be escorted. However, we have in your guest profile notes that since you had been with us previously and had stayed in the same room you refused the bell service when your room became available at 3:31 pm, 30 minutes prior to our published check-in time. Our standard check-in time is 4 pm, and we do everything we can to get you in prior to that. However when we have a full house, as we have for the past several months including the time you were here, that is not always possible due to the time required to prepare the rooms. (We realize the hotel does not always seem full because it spans several blocks and includes many common areas.) The black residue on the air vents you referenced was soot from the fireplace. Thank you for noting that the management team promptly and effectively responded to the issues that you did have with the TV and telephone. Since you were a repeat guest in the same room, we assume your previous visit was pleasurable. Again, we regret that you found your stay less than enjoyable on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wanted to treat my wife to a nice get away weekend to help her celebrate (and cope) with a milestone birthday (ends with a "0") and we finally had the opportunity to stay at the Old Edwards Inn. The wait was surely worth it! I had preordered roses in the room which were there but the staff had spread red rose petals over the bed with 2 red roses on the dresser. We had a room in the original inn building with a balcony overlooking main street which was great. Coffee, sweet roll, talk and a little reading made the weekend very relaxing.

I made reservations at Madison's (their main restaurant) for dinner and the table again had red rose petals scattered which pleased her. The food and service was excellent!

I can't explain how attentive and professional the staff was to our every need. We definitely will be back and this time with friends. Oh, did I mention the heated floors in the bathroom?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about rooms in the main inn vs. cabins vs. lodge. Rooms to meet your every need. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiseaholiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for entrusting Old Edwards with your wife's "milestone" birthday. We're happy to have been part of your celebration. Since you are apparently fond of cruises, we hope you found the North Carlina Mountains a nice change of scenery and that we will be able to host you again in the future.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing