We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old Edwards Inn - Excellent in All Areas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Edwards Inn - Excellent in All Areas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at Old Edwards Inn. Expectations were exceeded in all areas we visited: People (Staff), Lodging (Lee Suite in The Lodge), and Food (Madison's, and the Wine Garden). We also utilized the fitness center which was extremely well equipped and staffed.

Even if you do not stay at the OEI while in Highlands, any of the restaurants are well worth a visit.

Most remarkable was that although the property appeared to be fully booked, it was very quiet, and felt as though we had the property to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johntmcgregorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    88
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
138
729
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

For $800 a night including 2 rounds of golf and 2 spa treatments one could stay at a 4 seasons. Or stay in kiawah or sea island and get more for less. Old Edwards is a tremendous getaway but it's price is not comparable to it's value. I would have sent this to the gm but there is no contact email.
The golf "package" is not a package at all - you pay rack rates for the room and golf and get one free food only dinner for two. Big deal. The spa suites are of the best rooms. Nice yes, extraordinary no. View of the street, and a charming (read old and dilapidated) chest where you can hurt yourself opening the drawers. One of the best nooks in the place is the rooftop terrace allegedly open every day - for at least the midday - it was not open once in a 4 day stay. The town is nice but even the most ardent trinket shopper would be done in a day. The net is i think the Old Edwards is perhaps a haven for Atlantans seeking to go to the mountains.
Checkout was at best uncomfortable as the staff can only help to explain the charges with no authority to do anything about them. Apparently OZ is some remote off site authority. Anyhow for $800 a day with minimal hotel charges (a massage/manicure and some drinks) and the golf for 2 days i'd rather be in Nevis, St. Barth's, Kiawah or Sea Island. $175 for a Cplus massage is but one example of where the Old Edwards may be living on reputation vs. value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main inn are lacking. The spa suites or new cottages are a better choice - they are jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckerrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved our stay at The Old Edwards Inn! Spent two nights in Lodge cottages and two more in their beautiful new Falls cottages. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the game room. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBWPVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Attended a wedding here in June. The accommodations were wonderful. The staff was very nice and helpful and very friendly. It gives you warm feel. Very lovely. Great place for a wedding or any activities for a wedding. the location is nice. Right in the middle of downtown. Very close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 35th anniversary. The service was great and the hotel is gorgeous...loved all the antiques! Defiantly feels like you're stepping back in time.
On the downside, the rooms were very tiny and somewhat noisy! Also very pricey, so not for the budget minded!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Old Edwards Inn (OEI) was a simply fantastic place. They seemed to think of everything. The service was excellent! The accommodations (we stayed in the Falls Cottages) were also excellent. It was an anniversary trip and from the champagne and roses upon arrival to rose petals and chocolate at turn down, they did not miss a trick. The Spa was a great place to spend a rainy day. I stepped out my box and went with my wife for a message and it was wonderful. It is located right in downtown Highlands among many shops and great restaurants. The weather was very nice even with the rain that we received, highs in the mid 70s and lows in the low 60s.

Room Tip: I am sure that all rooms were great, but the Falls Cottages based on our stay were almost new when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Old Edwards Inn 4 times over the last two years while taking or picking up my daughter from camp. Rooms are immaculate even in the Inn and the beds and sheets are high end. The pool is spectacular and the bar service is excellent. You can walk everywhere including to some spectacular views if you enjoy hiking. The Spa is excellent and their attention to detail and making you feel like you are the only one there is superb. The rooftop bar is not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liztravels124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing