We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme pampering!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Extreme pampering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Every opportunity is taken to make guests feel pampered. The original inn has been renovated in old world charm-chintz, canopies, and ruffles. Upon arrival we had roses and champagne in our suite. The bathroom floors are heated and turn down service includes a chocolate chip cookie. The Hummingbird lounge offers Dove bars round the clock and chilled bottled water is provided on every floor. The staff is friendly and helpful. Landscaping around grounds is lovely. This property has a family tradition atmosphere about it which is very appealing!

Room Tip: The suites are extremely comfortable and roomy. Balconies are charming and offer great view of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    91
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
143
748
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The inn room was very nice but very small. Was told it had a porch, but it did have small balcony. The carpet needed cleaning. Booked at a good rate and verified by phone. However at checkout was charged higher rate. Glad I had a printed copy of confirmation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the inn are small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmscjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

First time ever staying in an Inn. This place has all the amenities available for a family or couple wanting this type of experience. Great place for a family reunion or to celebrate a special occasion such as an anniversary or honeymoon. Beautiful scenery nearby with abundant waterfalls and mountain hiking. Quaint in town shopping. Pricey but worth every penny for the memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Maureen721, we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us, and thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We hope to host you again soon.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have had the pleasure of using the local icon for luxury, The Old Edwards Inn on multiple occasions. Our recent Girls Spa Day was just amazing. The day started with lunch at the new Spa Cafe. Just beautifully decorated with a casual elegance that reminded one of the great spas of Europe. The menu offered is bountiful and well presented. We sipped Champagne on the porch overlooking Main Street and the Wine Garden. Very relaxing and just beautiful to get the mind and body ready for the treatment that followed.
The Massage was hands down one of the best of my life, if not the best. The name of the masseuse escapes me but I must assume they must all be great to be employed in this very professional organization. We had a pedicure and manicure that truly could not have been better. Kyra the Spa Manager saw to it that we were well pampered and could not have been friendlier to make our experience the best it could be. How nice! We can say that the experience is worth a special effort to make even if you are not staying at the Inn. Everyone local or visitor should experience this level of service and hospitality which make the Old Edwards Inn one of the very best in the business, anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Meg L, it is so great to see your review recognizing our spa staff and sharing how much you enjoyed your experience. We love being able to contribute to the community, and it is such a pleasure to get a great review from a local. Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The service at this hotel and spa is quite unbelievable even for 6 star! They held gates open for us, brought towels, food, water and drinks poolside. The girls turning down the beds at night will do whatever you ask of them!!! AND THE BEST OF ALL..............I LEFT A PAIR OF EARRINGS AND THEY SHIPPED THEM TO ME AT HOME! WOW!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were in the Chestnut cottages and love the veranda...........wine, cheese and good friends! what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Jan P, thank you for posting about your experience at Old Edwards on TripAdvisor. We love to hear about it when a guest recognizes our staff for great service. That is really the best compliment that you can give us. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you back for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Old Edwards Inn in June, 2013. We spent 3 days there and could have spent more. The staff, service and food are all top notch. We golfed at the OEI Golf Course. It is the most beautiful course we have ever played. Bring extra balls - it is tough. The spa services were great - lovely spa facility. The town is small, but there is lots of hiking and outdoor activities to keep you busy if you choose to leave the grounds of the hotel. Either way, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the spa suites. A little more pricey, but the room was about 600 square feet, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Michelle K, your comment about "could have spent more time" seems to be a theme lately. We have had an unusual number of guests extending their stays with us if availability permits. Thank you for sharing that. And we're so glad you got to experience so much of what we have to offer. Since you enjoyed staying in the spa suites, you might also look at The Church Street Cottages and Falls Cottages on your next visit. They are truly spectacular. We look forward to having you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel had an old world charm and yet was updated with all the expected conveniences. the staff were accommodating, friendly and available to help in any way. The golf course was great and The Farm venue was over the top. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in "the old part" which was totally renovated but still old. If that is not you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cml308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
cml308, thank you for posting your review about Old Edwards Inn and Spa. Yes, the historic inn oozes cozy charm. It is the part that started as Highlands first boarding house, called "Central House" in 1878. Of course, it has seen many changes throughout the years, including the most recent property renovation/addition that started in 2004 and now totals close to $100 million. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing