We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming Elegance”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Ewards Inn in December, the quietest time of the year, so our streetside room with the balcony that overlooked the Christmas lights on Main was perfect and quiet. The small but luxuriously decorated room ended up being quite comfortable for two nights. The bathroom was a nice size, which made it feel bigger, and it was the best shower of our trip. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I loved the heated bathroom tile floors. We ate the complimentary Dove Bars in the evenings from the pantry, and enjoyed the coffee in the mornings. We are hikers so we didn't spend much time in the hotel during the day and this was a perfect spot to clean up and lay our heads at night. We dined downstairs at Madison's one evening, which was very good. You definitely feel pampered at this elegant historic property. The service and attention at the Inn is outstanding. We would absolutely stay here again when in the Highlands.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building along Main Street, which might be a bit noisy in season. The regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
TheTravelingTigger, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, and to read that you would stay here again. On your next visit, consider one of the new Falls Cottages rooms or a Lodge Room for a more retreat-like experience. The rooms in the historic main inn are quaint and convenient to all that Main Street has to offer, including our own Madison's Restaurant and Hummingbird Lounge. But that is also what can raise the noise level a bit in that building. The new Falls Cottages, on the back of the property near Satulah Mountain, are available for booking now for stays beginning late June, and the lodge rooms can be booked for stays anytime. Thank you again for your positive comments on TripAdvisor. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    101
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
147
789
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first trip to North Carolina and we were so pleased we found the best on our first visit. We stayed in one of the cottages on the property. It was one unit of a two unit building so it afforded guests privacy. Our accomodations were spacious and comfortable with a fireplace in the living room, huge closet/dressing area, fabulously large bathroom, spacious bedroom, and a lovely deck/porch with cushioned furniture. The entire property was lovely with wonderful staff to meet your every need. Late one evening we entered the reception building for our accomodation (separate from the main historic inn) and the two staff members sitting behind the desk immediately stood up to greet us. That kind of courtesy is rare these days. The spa was wonderful and since we were there during a low season, the time I had in the spa was especially quiet. The fitness center is outstanding with regularly scheduled workouts with instructors and enough equipment to satisfy anyone who likes to workout on their own. We had dinner in their restaurant Madison's twice during our stay. The atmosphere was romantic and the food and wine fantastic. We had breakfast delivered to our room each morning and not only was the food delicious it was presented in beautiful style. They had a few beautiful living room areas with fireplaces on the property to sit and relax. Could go on and on. Loved our stay and plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
artcollette, thank you for posting your review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you got to experience a lot of our offerings, and we are so glad that you fully enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was first visit to this property but certainly not my last. Impeccable property, views, accommodations and staff.

I booked a Hickory King Room for an early Valentine's Day present for my beautiful wife who deserved an evening and more importantly, morning off, away from our young children. Our neighbors frequent Highlands often and we wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

We arrived from Atlanta on a cold, sleeting and snowy day. Upon arrival at Madison's, their restaurant, we were immediately offered a glass of champagne and a booth in the restaurant. We were met by Thomas, a young waiter who put us at ease and offered the menu and wine list. Lunch was delicious. We had a charcuterie plate which was perfectly explained by Thomas and I had a wonderfully dressed Caesar salad with grilled trout. My wife had the famous chicken salad which was delicious.

We were offered another glass of champagne and a tour of the Main Inn on the way to our room which was a short walk across the street. We booked a Hickory Room but it was way more than that. It was the size of a small NYC studio with a King Bed, two chairs with ottomans in front of a big flat screen TV. Beautiful paint, high ceilings, upholstered drapes, rods and the best bathroom I have ever graced. Really. Heated tile floors and towel racks. Double vanities with room to spare, walk in shower with hurricane-type pressure. Bathtub, according to my wife, to die for.

Our room had a private terrace with two chaise lounges overlooking the pool which was winterized and bubble-covered for the winter but was still open and available for guests to use. Unfortunately, we did not pack for this option. Looked and felt warm though.

I could go on and on about this special place but a few things make it really stand out. First, they offer and have sodas, snacks, water and Dove bars for free in your room and in each lodge. In the day and age where you are nickle and dimed or charged $5.00 for a water at a Marriott, this is such a welcome respite from corporate greed. The major hotel chains should take a lesson from the Old Edwards Inn. It makes you want to come back when you haven't felt like paying for every contrivance. By the way, we had two waters and one diet coke on the house. Not everyone will take advantage, I promise you Hyatt!

As for the meals and staff... Madison's was wonderful but somewhat empty in the low season. Didn't matter. We were made to feel special from the attentive service at lunch by young Thomas and again for room service at breakfast. How do they deliver hot poached eggs, bacon and grits 15 minutes after the order?

Dinner was wonderful. We were waited on by Samantha, an Ellen De Generes look-and-act alike. She was so fun and attentive and definitely an asset to their organization. We had wonderful wine, martinis and food. Incredible scallops, tenderloin and souffle to finish the evening.

This hotel is The bomb. From check in to check out, this place loves its guests.

I have already booked our Anniversary weekend. Run, do not walk, to the Old Edwards Inn. It is just incredible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Michael P, wow. I have nothing to add to this review, except a big thank you for taking time to post a thorough and extremely well-written review of your Old Edwards experience. Also, if you ever want a job in marketing...:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the old Edwards inn with my husband. We were looking for a place to renew our vows for our 10 year anniversary and came across the vow renewal package at OEI. We couldn't have been happier with the experience. The service was the best we've had in our travels. We stayed at one of the cottage rooms and had a great two room suite. I think the take home point for this hotel is that you do not get the feeling that they are nickle and diming you for everything. Soft drinks and water and fruit are always free. We had purchased a package and the hotel sent up extra things not included (like chocolate covered strawberries). A wedding cake was included and they made us a huge two tiered cake. Madison's was very good, they had our table by the window covered in rose petals. We especially liked fitness center.

A couple negatives would be the town itself was not very interesting. Most of the stores and restaurants were closed for the off season, although people were very nice. I'm not sure they needed to put a dome over the pool as it was kind of tacky and I doubt people wanted to swim that bad.

All in all I see why OEI is so highly regarded by travelers. We would come back for another weekend in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europetrip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
europetrip07, we are honored that you chose Old Edwards Inn and Spa for your vow renewals. Hopefully you will get a chance to join us in the warm months when the pool is alfresco (with another pool opening in June) and the town is hopping. Some shops and restaurants modify their hours in winter months, but more and more are starting to stay open longer and some not closing at all as Highlands continues to gain popularity as a winter retreat. So we are making progress! Of course the slower time makes for more of a retreat environment in winter, and is one reasons we put a winter dome on the pool, providing more options for activities. It was a test this year and has been surprisingly busy and well received. If it keeps up, perhaps we will build a more permanent retractable structure sometime in the future. Thank you again for your post, and we hope to see you again soon, in the warm weather season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemont, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay Tuesday night celebrating our 21st anniversary. This was our 3rd stay here and the most memorable. Every staff member was gracious and welcoming. We loved the fitness center and the instructors. Excellent spin, yoga and weight classes, followed by down time in the first class spa and later an amazing meal at Madison's all combined to create a perfect anniversary. Being a same sex couple, I was very impressed that several of the staff were informed that we were there for our anniversary and were sincere in their congratulations. When we entered our room, there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us along with a congratulatory note. When we returned from an excellent dinner, there was a smaller bottle of champagne, rose petals and another nice note awaiting us. All of these touches were very much appreciated.
The Old Edwards Inn is the perfect place for a rejuvenating quick getaway in February. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we have booked 3 more stays for the month of February.
Thank you OEI for striving to always deliver the best service possible!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Craig-Michael, we are so glad you chose to spend your anniversary with us at Old Edwards. Though we're a little behind in responding to our TripAdvisor reviews, we so appreciate when our guests take time to post them, as you have done. We hope to have a long relationship with you, and to help you celebrate many more anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having never been to Highlands, North Carolina, my husband and I planned a last minute stop there on our way home from Asheville. It was New Year's Day and I made a reservation only 2 days before for a deluxe room at the rate of $199.00. The photos on the website looked comfy and the reviews were stellar. Much to our dismay when we arrived I found Highlands to be a little different than we expected. Although the town is nestled in the middle of the Blue Ridge Mountains there are no views from any of the in-town accommodations and most of the town was closed for there off-season. Of course, none of this is the fault of The Old Edwards Inn and I have to say they are the star of Highlands. Eduardo was so very helpful. Our room was a bit on the small size for what we were looking for so we asked to see other rooms and he showed us 3 available rooms. One being a cottage setting with a large living area, bedroom, pantry, massive bathroom with jacuzzi tub and porch. Once again, there isn't a view so we just shut the blinds and turned on the gas fireplace. The cottage rate online was $399.00, but it was offered to us at $250.00. We found it so comfy and relaxing that we ordered dinner from Madison's room service menu and spent a relaxed evening in front of the fire. The rooms are decorated with 5 star furnishings and the walki-in closet provided comfy robes, slippers and cloth hangers. I enjoyed the Keurig coffee/tea machine several times during our stay. Our next night we ventured out after drinks in the lounge and found a quaint Pub with live music right down the street. The Inn itself has a wonderful Spa, comfortable lounge area with snacks and TV viewing area. There is a Butler's pantry for drinks, fruit and Dove bars available anytime of the day or night. On arrival you are offered champagne or water and on departure you are given a goody bag with water and fresh fruit. The grounds of the Inn are spacious and very well maintained and I can see this being a popular spot during the Spring and Summer months.The staff is trained to make your every request possible. I have always though the customer should be accommodated if at all possible, and the Old Edward Inn tries their best to make it happen. All in all, I would return to the Old Edward Inn simply for the attentive and gracious staff, but I have to say all the little extras make this Inn a star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jhager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
jhager, we love having visitors from our neighboring mountain town of Asheville! Thank you for driving to Highlands and staying with us at Old Edwards Inn ad Spa. We agree about our staff; they are the best, and thank you for noticing. You are right about Highlands being nestled. It is a great walking downtown to wonder in and out of shops, galleries and restaurants. When it's time for the awe inspiring view, hike to Sunset Rock or Whiteside Mountain. We have guided hikes from our fitness center to both locations in the warmer months. We hope to see you back then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Top notch all the way! Service and staff were great, from the spa techs to the desk personnel to the entire group at Madison's Restaurant, from the chef on down. They treat you like a king! Go for a night or a week. You'll come away feeling pampered and relaxed...

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cottage style room. Convenient parking a few feet from the door. Left a few things i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
JimR, it sounds like you experienced a good sampling of everything we offer at Old Edwards. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear words like "Perfection" and "Top Notch." We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#4 of 7 in Highlands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Edwards Inn and Spa sits atop the beautiful southwest plateau of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains. The acclaimed European style resort fills several blocks filled with amenities, music, dining venues and individually appointed guestrooms, suites and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing