We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Hahira, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have traveled to the Highlands area each year for the past several years around the first of December to celebrate our anniversary and to get a Christmas Tree. This year we stayed at Old Edwards Inn (Christmas Tree Package). All I can say is WOW!!! Our room, dinner at Madison's and the staff were far beyond our expections. Our package included a voucher for a tree at Tom Sawyers Tree Farm (which is where we have been getting our tree for the past several years) and a voucher to use towards a meal at Madison's (which my husband has wanted to eat at for the past several trips). Our spa suite room was the most beautiful room. We had a fireplace, surround sound, heated marble floors in the bathroom and towel warmer. Our room had a small balcony overlooking a courtyard. Since it was our anniversary we had a rose petal turndown and champagne when we returned from dinner. I could have easily lived in our suite!!! The Highlands Christmas Parade was on Saturday and it was a wonderful parade. I could go on for days about our stay here. It was wonderful and we now plan to stay at Old Edwards Inn each year for our annual trip! Cannot wait!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Laura R, What a great weekend to visit Old Edwards and Highlands, when the Christmas parade is happening! And to take a Christmas tree home on your car is a great tradition. I'm happy that you stayed with us this year. We look forward to becoming part of your holiday traditions.
PS: Love the title of your review:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    91
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
140
737
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

It pains me to write a less than desirable review about OEI as I have been booking services at the spa for years and also stayed there for a period while I was building a home in nearby Cashiers. The Spa is no longer what it used to be - my last two visits I have had to find my own robe and slippers because no attendant was around to offer help. Wife and I held off on eating lunch because we thought we would grab a bite from the spa menu before our services. Wife was just told the restaurant is closed. It is 4p. I have been here for 45 mins now and not a single person has acknowledged my presence. If you are from the Atlanta area, like myself, you are better served with a quick rub down from Sydell herself before heading up the mountain. That is my plan moving forward. Our last trip (less than 4 months ago) the showers didn't work at all. They offered 20% which I appreciated. When calling to book this set of services (today) she was advised to brung her own flat iron as they have havd problems with guests removing them from the spa.

Milton GA and Cashiers NC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
William C, We so appreciate your loyal patronage and very much regret that you had a bad experience at the spa. The New Year holiday was an anomaly this year at the spa, and we are working to address the issues that were experienced by a few of our guests. We really value your loyalty and hope to see you back. I am sending you a personal message via TripAdvisor as well. I hope the rest of your 2013 is going well:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband surprised me with a night in December. This hotel is amazing. We usually travel to another well know historic hotel in Asheville, but I have really wanted to experience the Old Edwards for quite some time. It was well worth the wait. We will never go back to Asheville after being spoiled at the Old Edwards. The service and amenities were amazing!!! This hotel is worth every penny! From check in to check out, you are treated with nothing but the best! You have 24 hour butler pantry to grab a late night soft drink, water, or Dove Bar! The bathroom floors are heated and you receive a nice little check out gift of fruit and water for the ride home. It was perfect and we will be back!! Next time we hope to take in the spa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Tina, thank you for posting a positive review about your visit to Old Edwards Inn and Spa. I'm so happy to hear that we have a new loyal guest. Yes, those Dove bars are a popular amenity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I went for a day trip to the spa and for dinner. The spa was over booked and as a result the amenities I went for were not available. The Steam room was full, as was the wirlpool and to top it off I could not shower before I left due all the showers being occupied. I have been to Grove Park and Biltmore and gotten much better service. The massages were good but everything else fell short. The OEI seems to want to pack as many people in as possible to the spa rather than give the high end service that it shows in it's advertisements. If your trip to OEI is like mine expect to seek out spa staff to order a drink, wait in cold waiting rooms and not have enough facilities to enjoy what you went for.

Room Tip: Grove Park Inn is a better alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackmimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
jackmimms, we are sorry to hear that you experienced crowding in our spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your massages. While I can assure you that we do not practice over booking of our spa services, your visit did occur during one of our busiest weeks of the year. However, this is still neither a standard nor acceptable practice at Old Edwards. As our guest base and global accolades continue to grow, we realize the need to enhance and expand areas of the resort in order to accommodate current and future guests in the standard for which Old Edwards is known. And we are embarking on expansions to the common areas of the spa in January 2013, as well as building an additional outdoor heated mineral pool and whirlpool in the new "Falls Cottages" area. Again, we apologize that your visit occurred at a time when the spa was at its busiest. You can read from some of our other reviewers that they felt that the spa did not feel crowded. We hope that you will return in the future-- perhaps as an overnight guest--to experience the serene environment that we aspire to create for our guests at Old Edwards Inn and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our 6th trip to Old Edwards Inn and another superb experience. I we ate at Madison's which was fantastic and we can't wait for our next visit back to Old Edwards Inn. We love the small town and how low key everything is, this is our favorite get away for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank downtown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
downtown075, thank you for your review. We love, love, love having you as a loyal guest:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A weekend getaway right before Christmas turned out to be the best gift our family could have gotten this season. This was our first time at OEI, and to say the least we were blown away. First, when making out last minute reservations on the phone, the service was unbelievable. We spoke to Eduardo several times, some times late at night, before deciding on a room, he emailed numerous pictures of each suite, and gave us his personal recommendations as to what fit our family the best. It turned out that our 2 bed, 2 bath king suite cottage was perfect!!, quaint, quiet, cozy, and clean. We were with our 2 daughters, 16 and 9, they both had their own king room with full bath. Every staff member we met was top notch, this place has a very comfortable, down to earth southern charm, while giving Ritz Carlton like service and feel. The Spa was unbelievable, we spent two days there, never felt crowded, the treatments we had were some of the best we had ever had. My wife's facial was her best ever. The kids spent most of their time at their personal gaming area with some other kids they had met. It was right next to our cottage, they had video games, pool tables, cards, movies, darts, free drinks, and of course free Dove bars!! They also had fun walking down the street, and shopping in some of the nicest stores. We ate at OEI's Madison's restaurant twice for dinner, and once for lunch, and each time was unbelievable. The girls felt like they were in some fairy tale. Food was beautiful, service was the best, and the time were were able to spend together as a family was priceless!!
We really enjoyed the elevation change, and being up in the mountains literally. It was 2hr 20min from our home in GA, and we felt like we were a million miles away. 20 degrees cooler, really felt like Christmas. Lets just say, we will be making less trips to Blue Ridge GA (which we love), and spending a lot more time at OEI in Highlands NC. Go check this place out for yourself!!

Room Tip: Any room will be great, we recommend you call Eduardo, he will get you in the right place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dechandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dechandt, that is one of the most heartwarming stories I have read about a visit to Old Edwards Inn and Spa. It reads more like a family Christmas story than a review. Thank you for choosing Old Edwards for your special family memories. I hope we can help you with many more to come.
Happy New Year to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary here with a two night stay in mid-December. It was a splurge, but off season rates were quite reasonable for a hotel of this quality. We got a room upgrade to a suite because of the anniversary, and a discount at the spa because it was during the week. First, the setting...this inn is on the historic register. The old polished wood, the simple elegant surroundings, the small cozy spaces with fireplaces, the well dressed, perfectly appropriate staff...what ambiance! Second, the perks...in a day where we are charged for every extra thing, they provide complimentary extras at every turn. Free cookies, coffee, Dove bars, soft drinks, water, fresh fruit, champagne and roses, luxury robes and slippers, turn down service, 24-hour salt water pool and whirl pool, etc. Finally, the staff..impeccable and extraordinary in every way. They appear to love their jobs and genuinely want you to have the best visit ever. They are so helpful and personable. The chef delivers 5 star gourmet dishes. I really cannot say enough about the total experience that you enjoy here. Two nights--in the midst of a gorgeous national forest and a charming main street with church bells ringing and Christmas lights everywhere--seemed truly like a week away in a peaceful civilized world of peace and calm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris35209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
chris35209, thank you for your great review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa. We really appreciate that you noticed our staff members. We feel that we have an amazing "family" here at Old Edwards, and they are by far our greatest assets in contributing to your memorable stay. We also appreciate your recognizing that Old Edwards does not add on charges for things that will make your stay more enjoyable. We are committed to that, and we try to make sure that all surprises are good ones. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to be part of next year's celebration as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing