We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Resort in Beautiful Highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“First Class Resort in Beautiful Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is one of the finest hotels around. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable. It opened to a private parlor shared only by the couple we were traveling with. Service is also top notch. Staff seems well trained and all were unfailingly friendly. They certainly added to our pleasant visit. Highlands is a neat little town in the Blue Ridge Mountains in extreme western NC. Flat landers flock to this area in the summer to escape the heat of the south. At more than 4,000 ft. Above sea level, Highlands is always much cooler during the summer than most of the deep south. The Old Edwards Inn's recent renovations and expansion has created a total upgrade for the Highlands area. It has a top rated spa and guests have access to the resorts semi-private golf course nearby. Lastly, Madison's, the hotels fine dining venue, is the best restaurant in a town with several surprising good places to dine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    91
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
144
749
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stay in the newer section for larger rooms. By far one of the better food choices in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Two nights here and my wife said she could live here. Rooms are not huge, but plenty big enough. We had a balcony overlooking Main Street. The people here are so nice from the time you walk in and they show you around. There is a butler's room on each floor with soft drinks, fruit, bottled water, coffee, tea, and my favorite Dove Ice Cream Bars, You have complimentary use of the fitness center and spa and the heated salt pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Old Edwards Inn and Spa in June of last year. I regret that I did not write this review sooner, but I guess it's better late than never. This place truly deserves all the acclaim it has been receiving. We stayed at a corner cottage and we had our own patio. Our cottage was very clean, inviting and private. We especially loved the heated floors of our bathroom! It helped me get our bathing suits dry and ready to pack the day after. :) We were a few steps away from the 24-hour business center (which also houses the 24-hour pantry filled with Dove bars, fresh fruits, etc). We also availed of the Bliss for Two massage at the Spa. This is certainly a great way to get pampered! We were the last appointment for the day and we were in quite a rush because we came from the Biltmore Estate earlier that day. We just had a few minutes to spare before our scheduled appointment, and had I known what a luxurious place the spa would be, I would have totally reworked our schedule around it. Make sure you have plenty of time to spare because the pampering comfort of the shower, sauna and whirlpool bath in their locker room is an experience in itself! After your massage, while you're still in your plush robes, they give you time to sip tea in the spa patio with a view of the town. I have to note that the spa staff was incredible in making us feel that we could take our time doing this even though they were already closing down for the day. They allowed us to savor the full experience with the limited time that we had. This is definitely a trip that I would encourage couples, young and old, to take. Truly worth the trip and worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodlandfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you have not been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa, you are missing out on a little bit of
Heaven right here on earth. You are pampered, but not bothered. The grounds are
beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and very spacey. The relaxation room is my favorite.
Everyone should go to this town at least once. Mayberry has to be modeled after Highlands. The town is quaint. All of the shops are worth visiting. This hotel is a must and
you will be hooked.

Room Tip: We love the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I recently took a trip to Highlands and stayed at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa for four nights as part of a longer vacation. Although expensive, the service, amenities, and location still make the experience well worth the money. The staff are very professional, helpful, and friendly at all times. Highlands as a location is absolutely perfect for outdoor activities and my wife and I enjoyed the plethora of hiking trails in the immediate area. Being able to come back to such a relaxing and enjoyable environment after spending a day of hiking made the stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulGBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I surprised my husband for our anniversary with the "slip away and save" package. It was our first time to Highlands, and we were there during their quiet time, which was very nice! The history of the place and character was so neat. Madison's is amazing! We ordered room service a couple of times and ate there for dinner one evening, and their approach to food is wonderful. The spa is SOOO relaxing. It is the attention to detail that Old Edwards provided that made it such a special place.

Room Tip: The Inn rooms with the GREAT porches are a bit small, but have a lot of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashwad918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing