We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious Thai Cuisine in Highlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghangri - CLOSED

Ghangri
Price range: $8 - $24
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Cuisine in Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were thrilled to learn that the former location of Wild Thyme Gourmet in Highlands is now a Thai restaurant. Three of us had dinner here this evening and thoroughly enjoyed everything.
We had a wonderful, helpful server and his assistant who was always there to refill our water glasses. (Much appreciated with spicy dinners!) Two of us started with the Fresh Basil Roll served with a very good peanut sauce. It was a portion that two of us could have shared, well filled with fresh veggies. One person had the Wonton Soup which was wonderful. Home made wontons and lots of veggies in a very good broth. Two of us had the Panang Curry with Chicken. The chicken was extraordinarily tender, lots of veggies and the curry sauce was delicious. A third in our party had the Green Curry with chicken that was equally good. We felt each dish was spiced as described and perfect for out taste as we do like spicy foods.
My husband had two pieces of white tuna sashimi which he said had a very good, fresh flavor. We were surprised to see the sushi menu as we did not know they also served sushi. The sushi menu sounded wonderful and diners at a table near us raved about the rolls they ordered.
We are eager to return to try other items on the menu as well as some of their sushi.
We did not order wine this evening, but noticed they had a very nice wine list with many of our favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Must try for a change of pace. Very good,great service. A bit small,may need reservations. Price is good and wait staff helpful. Curry is excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, quaint and casual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Dined in this bistro for lunch. Ordered the special: soft shell crab curry with brown rice which was magnificent! Great value, casual setting, indoor or outdoor dining options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nvwoods21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Good News/Bad News is that Highlands has become a really good restaurant town, thank you Art Williams and OEI.
Ghangri has become a top mid-week "go to" for my family. Casual dining in or pick up and take home, the very good chicken larb and basil rolls offer a mid week treat without being a belly buster. This restaurant continues to evolve and improve under the guidance of Dindu Lama, a native of Nepal and owner-chef of Wild Thyme of Highlands. Ty it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant and we did enjoy the cusine. The menu was authentic and we enjoyed what we ordered. The service was ok but not fabulous. No drinks refilled in time but a great effort was made for extra chili sauces. Something that annoyed us was we were seated side by side with a very loud table that went on and on, on opinionated topics. Now this is not the restaurants fault but there were plenty of empty tables and we could have been seated further away. That obviously made the entire meal disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scorpionsting24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghangri also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing