We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Cullasaja River Gorge
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burnsville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful cascade more than a fall, but the pull off is treacherous. Only a few cars can pull off at one time and as leaf season comes to peak it will be hard to find a spot to pull off. If you like to photograph the best times are late morning or early afternoon. The cascade is in deep shade early and late.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous falls!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The drive through the gorge is narrow. The falls were running fast. We missed the first turn off and had to turn around which is hard to do on the narrow road. I felt like we in the mountains of Italy with the narrow roads. If you get a chance to drive this route from sylva to highlands it's worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ctcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfalls with easy access”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This beautiful, winding mountain road leads to 4 amazing waterfalls: Bridal Veil, Dry Falls, Upper and Lower Cullasja Falls, all with easy access from the road. As a motorcyclist, I can't wait to come back and ride this road on my sport bike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large Falls”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The view of the Falls is breathtaking..parking is very limited. Photo ops are incredible! There are more falls as you travel toward Highlands.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeG1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORTENSE
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Drive”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came from Franklin over to Highlands, and the River Gorge is just beautiful! It had been raining quite a bit, so the water was up and the falls were fantastic! We must have pulled over 10-15 times at the pull-offs, some were scary close to traffic. I was nervous for the kids, and they only got out at certain spots. We were there midweek and it was still a very busy highway, but well worth stopping!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GABE AND DARLEN... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullasaja River Gorge also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cullasaja River Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing