We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Well-traveled Trails

This is a popular hiking trail with three sections of waterfalls. The paths are well-marked and... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2018
Kim W
,
Matthews, North Carolina
Nice hike wear good shoes

Drive for a short time on dirt road to parking lot. Hike to first overlook of the falls is pretty... read more

Reviewed July 28, 2018
TravelTN33
,
Knoxville, Tennessee
Read all 187 reviews
  
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
125
47
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
47
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hike dirt road tree roots long hike hiked down parking lot parking area moderate hike mile hike three sections decent shape viewing area walking stick well worth the effort wear good shoes wooden steps national forest
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 186 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We had hiked down to the first viewing area and were rather disappointed because it was at the top of the fall and a pretty good hike down to the next level. We did the Whitewater Falls prior and on the toughest of the two trails, so we were not about to go any further. From other pictures however, it would be worth it if your in the shape to do so. While it may be a short distance it can also be challenging. The whole Sapphire Valley is a paradise for those who like to hike with over 10 in the area alone.

Thank SINROSSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

This is a popular hiking trail with three sections of waterfalls. The paths are well-marked and well-traveled by lots of tourists. It's worth the trip, but not as spectacular as some of the others. If you're looking for something away from the rest of the world, this isn't it. But it's a beautiful, moderate hike with vista views at various spots.

A gravel lot provides some parking but not enough. Cars park along the road approaching the lot.

Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Drive for a short time on dirt road to parking lot. Hike to first overlook of the falls is pretty easy and well marked. If you want a more spectacular view hike to second overlook downhill. We did not go to the bottom overlook.

Thank TravelTN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

From Highlands, NC take NC 106 toward Dillard, GA. About 3 miles, you will see National Forest sign for Glenn Falls. You will drive on a gravel National Forest road to the Glenn Falls parking area. There is ample parking. The 1 mile falls trail is modestly rough (all down hill). There is a lot of steps on the steeper 1st half of trail. Second half has a lot of roots across trail. If you are a little uneasy hiking, a walking stick is recommended. There are 3 falls to see. It is worth the hike to see the falls. In mid July, the Rhododendron were in bloom so added to the beauty.

Thank Ultra_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

This water fall has a hike to it the first look out is easy to get too but only looks over the top of the fall nice but not spectacular look, the second look out is totally worth the look but can be tiresome to get too. There is also a third lookout but I was exhausted and loved the view I saw.

1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

This Falls is truly a very uniquely beautiful Falls that is well worth the hike! The great thing about this is that you can hike just a little or a lot, depending on what your energy and ability level is! They have 3 different landings (deck areas to view the Falls on the hike down), so it is not necessary to hike all the way down to see the beauty of the Falls! Of course, if you really want to see the whole thing in all of its natural beautiful grandeur, you'll want to hike all the way! Do wear really supportive good sneakers or hiking boots with good tread if you're going half way or all the way down! They have made the hike easier because the path is well laid out with stepping areas in most places, so that is also a real plus! Do remember that you have to go up afterwards and you will get a little "winded" if you're out of shape or not used to a hike! If that's you, you may want to choose not to go all the way down, but instead just enjoy the first or second landing to view the Falls! Also, they have a large enough area for parking for your car.

1  Thank lisamm377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

I have been to this water fall once and it was a nice quiet hike that I did once alone. There are different points along the trail to stop and see different views and levels of Glen falls. I did not go to the top and instead hiked towards the bottom and then back up to the point where I parked. I went in the summer time and it wasn't as hot as it could have been. It is worth it to see the different views and just to be outside. It was a hard at times and steep in some areas but the trail was marked well.

1  Thank jwmcrazynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Short hike, clearly marked, highly recommend! Small parking area. If your in highland or cashier this is so worth the stop!

1  Thank Tami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

This is the last waterfall we visited while staying in Franklin and we are glad we did , for us in our late 50's is kind of a hard hike but worth the effort and the time . this waterfall is really three separate falls under one name you start at the first which is at the top of the mountain and work your way to the second which is about half way and finally when you reach the bottom you actually are like on the river itself and you can get your feet in the water if you visit before winter of course and then sit around to enjoy the beauty and peace of the location.
Worth every minute of it.

3  Thank burgosa631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Glen falls consists of 3 different tiers of water falls. It was a cool experience and gorgeous set of waterfalls, but a pretty difficult hike, especially after the 2nd tier. I didn’t feel it was worth the hike as the path isn’t really kept that well, and there are lots of things to trip on as well as being steep. The path is almost as long to reach the 3rd tier as the 1st and 2nd combined. Once we finally got there, it was also grown up with trees, so I had to get out on some of the rocks in the middle to get a somewhat decent view, which is probably dangerous. I’d stick with the first and second tier as those offer the best scenic views. There was some parking available and we encountered only about 3 other couples on the hike. It rained pretty bad earlier in the day, which probably kept a lot of people away. This was our least favorite waterfall in the area with dry falls being the best, and Bridal Veil 2nd best. Don’t get me wrong, I would absolutely go back to see the 1st and 2nd tier. Plan on 1.5-2 hours if you want to go all the way down. If interested check out my review and pictures of the other waterfalls.

3  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews