We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, fun to walk and swim”

Cliffside Lake Recreation Area
Ranked #10 of 24 things to do in Highlands
Attraction details
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fun to walk and swim”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just great old fashioned fun...swimming, picnicking and walking. Wonderful setting. Fun for kids of all ages.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a quiet afternoon at the lake”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This lake and park was recommended by the store clerk in the hiking store in town. We took a couple of fishing poles and had a great time walking the lake trail, fishing, hanging out on the beach, catching the water salamanders, and swimming. This is a good place to go if you are looking to take a break from sightseeing for a couple of hours and just "hang out". It's a beautiful stocked lake. Worth the couple of dollars to get in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great outdoor area”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Cliffside is excellent for all ages. A wonderful path around the lake with tremendous views. There is areas for grilling and eating with numerous picnic tables. One of my favorite locations near Highlands.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 321Reba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent park”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our dog loves to walk the loop trail around the lake. He is highly offended if he doesn't get to visit Cliffside at least once a day while we are visiting Highlands. It is an easy, fun trail that allows you to enjoy nature while getting some exercise. Also, there is a small beach area where kids can swim in the summer. It seems like a great place to go and have a picnic, walk a trail or soak up some sunshine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small lake, poor for swimming.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I showed up in a bathing suit expecting to find a nice place to swim as was led to be believed looking on-line. What I found was a body of water too large to be called a pond, but just big enough to be called a lake. I would not swim here. It does have a nice walking trail around it and maybe for children it would be fun for a swim but the small area that is roped off would not accommodate most adults. A pretty area but do not expect like I did some large recreation area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliffside Lake Recreation Area also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cliffside Lake Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing