We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service”
Review of Rustico at the Log Cabin - CLOSED

Rustico at the Log Cabin
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

nice place to visit in highland, the best restaurant in area, a nice place to get back when ever i get a chance, you can relax and enjoy having a good wine and meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 301jeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my dog, and they set up with a table all by myself on the back patio! I had the veal with truffles or something and it was amazing!! They have some beer, and I was served a Peroni in a wine glass :) It was a nice fancy place, and you can spend some money here. And it's totally worth it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helloo_geisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Should have been better!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The one positive take from this new Highlands restaurant is the quality of the food. We had the Veal Chops and the Chicken and Sausage plates. All Three components were of high quality. And they should be given the price. What was unfortunate was the sauces they were in. To say average would be a complement. The red sauce in the Chicken and Sausage tasted like a can of Heinz and the mushroom sauce on the veal chop was exceptionally close to William and Sonoma's. Too bad, definitely expected more!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The ambience was wonderful. It was a lovely experience. Not rushed. Dining at its best. Able to hear each other as we sat by the fire & enjoyed getting to know each other. Hope to come back again & again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“An Improving Work in Progress”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our meals were good but a little inconsistent.. Two of us had the lasagna, which was one of the daily specials. It was excellent and they would do well to have it on the menu every day. Lobster ravioli stuffed full of lobster meat but the tomato sauce acidic and bland. Sword fish was fresh but the fennel sauce seemed an odd choice.

My salad, promodoro brutti, was really good. Stacked tomato, some slices fried with mozzarella was a unique and tasty starter. The others in our party enjoyed their salads but my wife's eggplant rolatini was just OK. Again, the tomato sauce is lacking something.

The wine choices are decent and they are priced fairly. Service was friendly and good but a little slow. I think Rustico's is a work in progress. They are off to a good start and with some tweaking can evolve into a major player in Highlands. From the size of the crowd last night, they are getting there very quickly.

Oh, and their moderate pricing makes them considerably less expensive than Paoletti's , Lakeside or Madison's . For us, since we like the food here, it's reason enough to include Rustico as one of our regulars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico at the Log Cabin also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing