We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Improving Work in Progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustico at the Log Cabin - CLOSED

Rustico at the Log Cabin
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“An Improving Work in Progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our meals were good but a little inconsistent.. Two of us had the lasagna, which was one of the daily specials. It was excellent and they would do well to have it on the menu every day. Lobster ravioli stuffed full of lobster meat but the tomato sauce acidic and bland. Sword fish was fresh but the fennel sauce seemed an odd choice.

My salad, promodoro brutti, was really good. Stacked tomato, some slices fried with mozzarella was a unique and tasty starter. The others in our party enjoyed their salads but my wife's eggplant rolatini was just OK. Again, the tomato sauce is lacking something.

The wine choices are decent and they are priced fairly. Service was friendly and good but a little slow. I think Rustico's is a work in progress. They are off to a good start and with some tweaking can evolve into a major player in Highlands. From the size of the crowd last night, they are getting there very quickly.

Oh, and their moderate pricing makes them considerably less expensive than Paoletti's , Lakeside or Madison's . For us, since we like the food here, it's reason enough to include Rustico as one of our regulars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Addition to Highlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were seated immediately and the service was very good from start to finish. If you are familiar with Highlands, this is not Paoletti's. The food is not as good and the atmosphere is altogether different. Rustico is in a landmark Joe Webb Log Cabin in the woods behind the Hampton Inn. This is not a bad thing by any measure, but Paoletti's is on Main Street across from the Old Edwards Inn and more cosmopolitan and upscale. Paoletti's is fine dining, more expensive and one of Highland's best restaurants for decades.

The food this Friday night was good, but not great. The veal chops were enormous and very well prepared and seemed to be a stand out entrée . The pasta bolognese was average. The sauce was lacking and the pasta bland. The salmon was overcooked and a bit dry. The apps and salads were very good. The restaurant was packed. Lots of waiters and service support and several checking to see if our meal was to our liking, topping the water glasses and asking if we wanted more bread. Upon leaving, the owner thanked us and gave us his business card.

The food is reasonably priced. Everyone in the restaurant made us feel at home and they went out of their way to make our meal and visit enjoyable. To sum it up, I would say that Rustico is good but not great and certainly not in the same class or price range as Paoletti's which is a Highlands mainstay. It is early days for Rustico and I am hopeful it will continue to improve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I remember the original log cabin restaurant for the decor more than the food. This, of course was in same Joe Webb built building but I miss the astonishing Steve Penley works that once adorned its walls.
Otherwise, the staff is well trained and food is of high quality.
We had formerly been fans of the other Italian restaurant in town, Paolettis, but after they added a stand up bar, it became too noisy to enjoy a conversation as those waiting for tables congregated at the bar which was in the same space as the seated diners.
Rustico is my new Italian spot of choice!

Helpful?
2 Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

There were four of us going to try the new restaurant in town. Empty walls, very little decor. But it is all understandable... these guys just got opened. Our service was Baaaad. Server did not even bother to ask how was the food after he served it. Food was good if not counting that veal chops were overcooked but it could have been fixed if server would at least appear in the dining room after serving the food. I just think if you charge fine dining prices you need to deliver a great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good News - Log Cabin Reopens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This charming real log cabin just reopened as northern Italian. Highlands has so many fine restaurants that it is daring to join the competion. This go round is bound to succeed. A genial and lively Romanian waiter made us smile from the start. A decent wine list and tasty dipping oil for the good bread was followed by excellent pasta and fish. The place nearly filled mid-week so support is building. We urge Highlanders and visitors to give Rustico a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGLightly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico at the Log Cabin also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing