We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good beer and burgers cooked to order, for all ages”
Review of Flip Side - CLOSED

Flip Side
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My two friends and I decided to try this place out because it's owned by the same restaurant group as Ruka's, where we ate last night, and our Ruka's receipts indicated that we'd get 10% off our bill at Flip Side. There was a little wait at 1:45 p.m. on a Sunday afternoon, but nothing unreasonable. Waitresses were friendly and enthusiastic. The description of the draft beers was funny and intriguing enough that both my friends (older women who are not that into beer) were enticed into ordering pints for themselves. Burgers are cooked to order, very thick ("This can't be just 1/4-lb"), and on thin, crumbly buns -- messy eating (since there's only one women's bathroom, bringing wipes might be a good idea), but smelled and tasted great. I had the steakhouse burger (bacon and onion ring toppings) with a side of chorizo beans. With a glass of unsweet tea and the discount, the bill came to $10. Very family friendly -- saw toddlers in high chairs and a dad showing his kids the bulletin board right outside the bathrooms. Football on with captions on TVs behind the bar, with some bar seating. Non-NC people may want to be aware that state law requires burgers be cooked to at least medium-well done. (I'm accustomed to ordering mine rare, but they don't ask how you'd like it done here since, well, there isn't much of an option.) Music was uncomfortably loud outside but at a good level inside -- Beatles and other basics.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mechaieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlipSide B, General Manager at Flip Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

As always, we thank our customers for choosing FlipSide. Sunday's are a very busy day for us, and we thank you for your patience. We are extremely thankful that you enjoyed yourself and our family oriented atmosphere. We love sports, and we REALLY love football. We apologize that the music was uncomfortable. Always feel comfortable letting us know any concerns and we will always be willing to adjust anything for you. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're interested in some basic "eats" to get you through the day, this place will meet your needs. Service is good; food is decent; prices are reasonable.

Thank TimothyW464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlipSide B, General Manager at Flip Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. The leaves are changing, and you don't want to miss it. Time to pack your bags and visit the beautiful town of Highlands again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great burger and fried Oreo. Nice people. Good value

Thank ByebyeHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's a burger joint so don't expect too much but it actually is quite good. Tons of Buger choices, good local beers and staff did a very god job. Will be back.

Thank Jimpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlipSide B, General Manager at Flip Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing FlipSide! We appreciate all our reviews and your's was a favorite. Why? Because though you probably meant "Good" burger's...it reads "God" burgers!! That must be a sign that they were "Holy Cow" amazing! Well, that's how we choose to read it. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We ate here before and had their burgers...they have any kind you can imagine...great beef and toppings, I do wish they served it on a different bun...it's too crumbly. The fries are great and the jalapeno chips are INCREDIBLE!! Last tiime, these were normal hot...yesterday, they set my mouth on fire!! Also, the roasted chicken salad was really good...and HUGE!...the atmosphere is so-so, but you get the impression people go here to eat, drink and leave, not really a hang-out spot. We'll be back again, I'm sure.

Thank mgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlipSide B, General Manager at Flip Side, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We appreciate you, as much you appreciate our Jalapeño appetizer!! Thank you for taking the time to compliment us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flip Side also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing