We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Vacation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Whiteside Mountain - 5 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael F
1 review
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our family had a wonderful stay in the highlands cabin. The weather was perfect everyday ! The home was quiet, clean , and had everything that we needed. We enjoyed sitting on the deck relaxing, fishing, and kayaking on the lake. Loved visiting the various waterfalls . A beautiful place to spend the week with our kids and grandparents. The best family vacation ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
I am so happy you enjoyed your Highlands vacation and our cabin. My family has been coming to Highlands for sixty years and we still love the waterfalls, hikes, sitting on the dock, and enjoying the lake. You are invited to stay at the cabin anytime you are in Highlands.
Best Regards,
Mary Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed the cabin and lake, and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Covington, Georgia
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wow---too hard to say since there was so much...openness, porch/decks, soft sheets, comfortable sofas/chairs.
Liked least: No shower in downstairs bathroom; rather it was tub with extendible shower head, so if you prefer showers, you had to go upstairs or stand in the tub and hold the extension over you.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay in our Highlands cabin, and cannot wait for your return. We have added lights on the top deck for those intimate evenings under the trees and stars. Enjoy a small fire in the chiminea on the deck while enjoying family and friends.
Sincerely,
Mary Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lclontz
High Point, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful place for families. First time here. Large covered porch. Stairs to a beautiful lake. Quiet and convenient to many things.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
I'm happy you enjoyed Highlands and the cabin in the Fall. The leaves and weather were lovely for you to enjoy family and sights. We hope to see you when you return. Mary Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
So happy you enjoyed the cabin and Highlands for your family reunion. Please think of us for your return trip to Highlands!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KidRip
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great spot from which to explore Highlands”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Having spent vacations in the Adirondacks, we wanted to experience some mountain hiking/kayaking in Western NC. This house was a great base for our needs (our kids are aged 9 to 13). The house is within a short driving distance from town, maybe 5 minutes, tops, but far enough away from traffic and noise. The house is on Apple Lake, which is really a large pond, but plenty big enough to paddle around for a bit and to take out the portable dock to the middle for a pleasant swim. The house comes with two kayaks and a small boat. There's a portable grill on which to cook if you're down at the dock. The house has a covered deck that was perfect for our German Shepherd to hang out. Even though it was the middle of summer, the temps in Highlands ranged from a high of 80 to lows in the upper 50s - with no humidity! The house is fairly well appointed inside. Two beds up in the loft, which also has a HUGE crate. We called it the Ritz, as it's at least 3x the size of our crate at home. Our dog stayed outside during the times we were at the house and only came in to sleep in the crate. The loft does get a lot of sunlight, as there are lots of windows in this house, but our kids were plenty tired from activities that it didn't bother them. Really, there's nothing negative to say about the house. If you twisted my arm for something, I'd have to say the master bedroom isn't that big and there aren't a lot of dinner plates. Again, it's a summer rental, not a palace! The great room is plenty big, with a great assortment of movies, old and newer, to hang out and watch with a bowl of popcorn. The kitchen area is clean and has plenty of cooking supplies to make up whatever you want. I would definitely recommend this house to friends and familly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Request more dinner plates
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
There is a set of dishes for twelve in the buffet, for guests to use when they want to sit at the large table and enjoy a family dinner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen593
Taos County, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cabin is spacious, well equipped, and located on a quiet, wooded hillside overlooking a small lake.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin combines urbanesque amenities, spaciousness, and a scenic location, perched on a lush, forested hillside overlooking a small lake. The lake is swimmable, and there are two single-person kayaks available for plying its calm waters. The surroundings are quiet, especially at night, except for the deep voice a bullfrog or two.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing