We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, but expensive. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream

Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
710 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Delicious, but expensive. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We have visited many Kilwins stores, and they are always great. Lots of selections and terrific treats for those with a sweet tooth. The downside, and the only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars, is the price. Kilwins is very expensive (our family of 5 each got a small snack and a small drink, and the total was $50, which was more than what we paid for lunch 2 hours earlier). It's a great place for an indulgent treat, but only if you're willing to splurge for the hefty price.

Helpful?
1 Thank ERFSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    56
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cool treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location. Very clean restroom. Live music on occasions in the courtyard in front of it. We grabbed a cup of chocolate ice cream for myself and chocolate chip for my husband. Mine was very rich but good, and my husband's was less rich but had enough chocolate chips to get your chocolate fix. It also had many other treats besides ice cream to order or take away packaged. Had a small indoor dining space with a few tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunrise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
173 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yummy treats!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I visit Highlands every year and I cannot wait to visit Kilwin's!! I am especially fond of their milk chocolate and pecan and milk chocolate and cashew turtles. The ice cream is yummy too!! Fun place for a sweet treat!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food-lover32361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice ice cream shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a couple of scoops there after lunch. The ice cream is fantastic but on the expesive side. You can get a waffle cone or a cup or go for a Sundae. The place is a dessert lovers dream; tons of sweets including fudge, cookies, brownies, etc. There are tables inside or you can eat outside. A very pleasant way to top off a leasurely lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filterfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great, a must visit every trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Incredible selection, something for everyone. We always stop every time we are in Highlands. From ice cream to fudge to just about anything sweet. Great service as the staff really took to our daughter (4 yr old), pleasant and inviting.

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing