We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very generous ice cream cone portions. Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream

Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mts of western NC
Level Contributor
673 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Very generous ice cream cone portions. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We ordered the ice cream cones this time around at $4.75 each. It includes a very generous scoop of ice cream in a waffle cone. The Toasted Coconut and the Chocolate Raspberry Truffle were excellent choices with delightful flavors. This is a must stop on any trip to Highlands. It is centrally located right in the middle of town with outside tables and benches to enjoy the Highlands atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlands, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our group of 9 visited the Highlands, NC Kilwins May 2013. It was a highlight of our family vacation! The employees were gracious and efficient. The ice cream was exquisite! Anytime we come across another Kilwin's we will definitely patronize it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive but Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I purchased several goodies from Kilwin's on my last trip. Salt water taffy, three different kinds of fudge, some chocolate covered Oreos and pretzels, and a frozen mocha. Everything was delicious, but is a bit expensive. We visit Highlands regularly and always stop in for a treat here!! It's hard to resist, you can smell the fudge outside the building!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmmedlin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE Caramel Apples and other sweets and treats!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you've never been to Kilwin's, you've been missing out!! If you like caramel apples, but avoid getting them because they're messy, this is the place to get them!! They not only taste incredible, Kilwin's slices the apples upon request; so, they're so easy to eat!! The apples are made with fresh Granny Smith apples, covered with caramel, and my personal fave is the turtle pecan apple (caramel, pecans, chocolate!)! Oh my! It's to die for! They also have great coffees, ice cream, fudge, prailines, etc.! There's a nice patio outside to sit and enjoy your goodies, as well as, indoor seating. Sometimes on the spring or summer weekends, there is live music on this patio. Also, their bathrooms are always nice and clean!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Kilwin's is filled with delicious looking treats. We had the caramel apple, which they cut for us. It was probably the best one I've ever had. The caramel was more butter than sticky and not to sweet. I'm craving another one already.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMH30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing