We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great, weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful views, great staff and very well priced! Loved the breakfast basket each morning and the trails surrounding the lodge are great for an easy morning hike. Skyline is the perfect place for a weekend getaway out of the city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkn075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    13
    13
    20
See reviews for
19
74
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia tn
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Such a beautiful place. Very peaceful and so relaxing.....We loved it. The staff was so friendly. Well worth the short drive from town. We felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. Planning another visit to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Most relaxing vacation we've had in years! This historic hotel, built in the Frank Lloyd Wright-style on the summit of Flat Top Mountain, is just a few minutes from downtown Highlands, but offers unsurpassed service, food, and views at an incredibly reasonable price. The 4300 foot elevation of the hotel enables stunning sunrise and sunset views from the restaurant patio and covered deck. Mary Jo and other hotel associates made us feel welcome throughout our stay. Since the hotel has an entire pet-friendly wing, we brought our border collie with us. The restaurant food was delicious, and our waiter was friendly and attentive. Our room was spotless and well appointed with a large flat screen TV, cable channels galore, desk, and free wi-fi. We had a lovely sunset view of the courtyard, jacuzzi and deck. The pool was sparkling clean and uncrowded. Other recreational opportunities abound, with tennis courts, stocked fish pond, hiking trails, and horse shoe pits on the grounds (tennis rackets,fishing poles, and hiking staffs available at the front desk at no charge.) One of the hiking trails leads to a private 45 ft tall waterfall and trout stream. The resort also has a beautiful wedding deck and arbor with lovely mountain views right next to the restaurant - the perfect spot for a small wedding. My girlfriend and I agreed that we'd like to get married here one day. Mature chestnut oak and other huge hardwood trees surrounding the hotel promise spectacular fall colors. We cannot wait to visit the best kept secret in Highlands again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left (east) side of the hotel offer beautiful sunrise views of the surrounding mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

You get what you pay for... sometimes. We spent our wedding anniversary at the Skyline Restaurant. It was just perfect. Secluded, not cowed, clean, nice people. Mary Jo at the front desk was welcoming and chatty... in a charming way. Helpful in getting us to our room and giving us ideas on things to do and stuff to see. The room was classic 1960's, and so was the hotel. Spacious room with a balcony and a nice view. I had brought some champagne and Mary Jo saw the bottle because when we had returned from some afternoon sightseeing, the bottle was on ice and two champagne glasses were on the bureau. Nothing fancy, just thoughtful and greatly appreciated.
Price was right at $149/night. Last year we spent our anniversary at the historic Grove Park Inn in Asheville. $500 per night for a cramped room and surly service. We will never go back to the Grove Park. However, we have already made pans to go back to Highlands, NC and see the Fall colors. You can bet that we will stay at the Skyline Lodge

Room Tip: All the old rooms (circa 1930) have fireplaces and have more nostalgia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafayette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would not pay any attention to the cry baby's review about this Hotel. Our room was a little dated maybe, but very clean and roomy. The atmosphere was awesome. They have a nice pool, and hot tub, with an outdoor sitting area. We had a great balcony and an air conditioner, although you would never need it in the climate there. The staff and service is 2nd to none. Be sure and try one of Lou Lou's deserts. They are to die for. The waiters and waitresses were awesome, as were everyone we came in contact with. The lounge and bar are 2nd to none. I will definitely be staying here again. So much better than staying right in the thick of things. It was only about 7 or 8 minutes from town and very secluded. Just can't say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

we planned our stay at this hotel in spite of some of the negative review we read about it. the hotel was older, but it appeared to have beautiful grounds around the property and a rustic sense of old lodge design. were we surprised! the place was old world elegant, very comfortable, very relaxing, very clean, and very kept up, with many private places in and around the hotel that my wife and i could choose to relax in. the grounds for hiking were wonderful and the town of highlands has everything one could ask for, great restaurants, shopping, a great art school and gift shop to visit, the bascom, ..and the meal my wife and i had in their formal dining room with beautiful outside forest views was actually no less than spectacular and quire romantic. sadly, we were the only ones in the dining room, bur we were served by a waitress who was wonderfully upbeat and friendly and made our meal even more special. my wife and i cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent location in Highlands. You are off the beaten path here but easy to get around and into town. A lot of history with this property and work still needs to be done in updating rooms etc (but that will always be the case!). We were very comfortable, even w/o AC, which we knew about ahead of time. (There are rooms with AC though). Like one of the other reviews I did not get a confirming e-mail, but there were no issues at check-in with our reservation.

Altitudes Restaurant at the Lodge is a hidden gem. Great staff and wonderful food. Very accomodating with our crazy schedule for the weekend.

Room Tip: Call the Lodge to discuss your reservation instead of using the website so you can ask questions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George-Judy8633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.7 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.7 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.6 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 470 Skyline Lodge Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyline Lodge and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbelievable is the word for the Skyline Lodge & Altitudes Restaurant...constructed of Redwood and Granite, begun in 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition. Completed in 1965, Skyline offers a magnificent forty mile view and nestled 4,300 feet atop of Flat Mountain overlooking the banks of Big Creek's cascading waterfalls. From the comfortable rooms with balconies and beautiful views to the scrumptious meals at Altitudes , it's definitely a part of Highlands that should be visited and revisited ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Skyline Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing