We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Their online site ad looks nice and located up in the mountains. They are up in the mountains, it was very old and worn, it is poorly managed. They were to deliver hot rolls to each guest room in the mornings...never arrived(this is because the restaurant was closed.) . Restaurant was only open for dinner on weekend, which they never told us when we called to make the reservations.

We wasted our money, not the wonderful stay we hoped. The good reviews must have been a long time ago.

Sue S. 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineLodge, Front Office Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience with your stay. We try our best to react quickly and be responsive in our guests' requests, however I see that this did not happen in your case. It was recently brought to my attention that some of our advertisements were not completely updated and the restaurant information was one of these. I sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of the restaurant hours at check in. I have corrected this issue and all guests are aware of our restaurant hours. We do try to provide our guests with a breakfast basket that includes muffins, juice, and fresh fruit on Mondays-Fridays since we do not offer breakfast in our restaurant those days. If you did not receive this, then that was a major staff oversight and I apologize. I was not made aware of your situation and had I been told, you would have been taken care of immediately. We are constantly making improvements based on our customer's feedback and I will make sure to make corrections to ensure this does not happen again. We really do appreciate your business and if there is anything we can do in the future please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    13
    13
    20
See reviews for
19
74
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We checked in at the Skyline this past weekend and were given keys to an Eagles Nest room, which looked fabulous online. On this 100 degree day, the windows were open, presumably to try and mask the mildew smell, and AC was off. As we stepped in, I crunched a beetle underfoot and began looking closer. The carpet was not vacuumed, ancient and filthy, as was the bedding. Mirror wasn't even cleaned in the bathroom, etc. But when I saw the BLACK MOLD on the ceiling, I'd seen enough. We asked for a refund, but staff wanted to show us a different room, which turned out to be just as dated (70's) and almost as dirty. I mentioned to the innkeeper that we'd stayed in 200 year old inns that were spotless. Age is no excuse for lack of maintenance. They obviously paid some good money for the website design. We'll be sure to let all our friends know not to waste their time checking it out.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineLodge, Front Office Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience with your stay. We try our best to react quickly and be responsive in our guests' requests, I apologize this did not happen in your case. We now are fully staffed to take care of the housekeeping issues and updating our rooms to provide the very best of quality for our customer's. The issues you mentioned have been taken care of, we have since made changes in the rooms cleanliness and aesthetics. Although, this is no excuse for the issues you discussed in your review. We really do appreciate your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Highlands hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Skyline Lodge. Would much rather stay up in the mountains at the Skyline than any of the hotels in downtown Highlands--well worth the 3 mile drive off Main Street. The staff was great, delicious food & beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineLodge, Front Office Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay!! We really appreciate your business and are constantly making improvements!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I hate to leave unfavorable reviews of a hotel that really tries so hard to make the guest experience great but sometimes it must be done.

The staff at this hotel is beyond wonderful. Everyone is extremely pleasant and friendly. The owners have spent a lot of time and money keeping the hotel up and continue to focus on maintenance and making new improvements. It is a beautiful rustic hotel, up in the mountains about 5 miles from town. The original lodge was started in the 1890's.

We stayed with the Skyline because it was a last minute trip and our stay followed a holiday weekend (Memorial Day.) The few rooms available in town were quite pricey. We were traveling with elderly parents and saw the advertisements of the hotel at $125. per night that mentioned a great restaurant and two bars, so we thought this place will fit the bill perfectly. Not quite so. We learned the great restaurant and bars were only opened on weekends and we would have to drive to town (not a terribly long drive, but a good 10 minutes along the winding mountain roads - one that we would NOT attempt in the dark.)

We met several other guest during our short stay who were equally disappointed and felt there was a bit of 'false advertising' as they would not have stayed there either without the advertised amenities. Before I left I spoke with the woman at the front desk who commented that other guests also mentioned this and she was sorry but said that town wasn't that far away. Really not the point.... If the ads would have mentioned 'opened seasonally' we would have inquired about this and if the hotel was not offering the amenities we wanted, we would have stayed elsewhere.

For the price we paid for each room, we felt overcharged. While the hotel room were pleasant, they were not the selling feature of the hotel. Clean, quaint, somewhat updated, but definately primative. One side of the hotel IS NOT AIR CONDITIONED. Not that you need it in May, but possibly later in the summer.

If you plan on staying here I would think it best to check with the hotel directly to see what your room will be like (a/c or not) and if there is food and beverage available BEFORE YOU BOOK.

Room Tip: Check with the otel before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

short stay needed more the staff was so accomadating and the restaurant was wonderful. Moose Lounge was great Friday and Saturday night after dinner, Dylan is a fantastic bartender and he will keep the conversation fun.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickles1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We decided at the last minute to go "leave peaking" in North Georgia/North Carolina and this being the peak season most places were booked. We luckily found a room at the Skyline - we had stayed there 30 years ago and had a great time, but were a little apprehensive after reading some the reviews on TA. We booked a room in the Frank Lloyd Wright section and though not fancy is was very nice. The room had a view of the gorge, you can hear the waterfall below and a working fireplace (you can either purchase a fire log at the office for $6.00 or bring your own). There are no hair dryers in the room, so take your own. The management was "johnny on the spot" taking care of any issues (i.e. replacement of light bulb in the bathroom, needing matches to light the fireplace, etc). Not wanting to drive back to town for dinner we ate in the Skyline Restaurant and had a very good meal for both dinner and breakfast. Service a little slow, but we were there to relax. Would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A corner room with a balcony/fireplace would be my choice in the Frank Lloyd Wright section. Being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilpickles, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
the 2 of you were a joy and we hope to see you again soon.
Dylan Doherty GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I read the reviews written about Skyline; however, the package for a 3 nights (weekday) stay drew me in.
The best part of the hotel was the FOOD! The restaurant is unquestionably unbelievable. I cannot rave enough about how fantastic the food was. We did not purchase a package however, I WISHED we had because we ate breakfast on Main Street ($40); it was not worth the money. We ate at Karlings Altitudes and when they say fine dining, they are SO TRUE! The food was unbelievable. Our breakfast there was almost half our meal in town and we had FRESH homemade bagels, and the best omelet my husband or me had ever eaten. More food for one person. The Chef (Jimmy), and his wife (Lily) were fantastic and made the experience even better!!
I will go back just so I can eat at the restaurant again! We are already planning to go back for Octoberfest to eat brunch. Can’t wait

Room Tip: don't do the upgrade on the left side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rommelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.7 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.7 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.6 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 470 Skyline Lodge Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyline Lodge and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbelievable is the word for the Skyline Lodge & Altitudes Restaurant...constructed of Redwood and Granite, begun in 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition. Completed in 1965, Skyline offers a magnificent forty mile view and nestled 4,300 feet atop of Flat Mountain overlooking the banks of Big Creek's cascading waterfalls. From the comfortable rooms with balconies and beautiful views to the scrumptious meals at Altitudes , it's definitely a part of Highlands that should be visited and revisited ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyline Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing