We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced...needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Inn Highlands
Ranked #5 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The location could not be beat. This was a last minute day trip that my husband and I went on and the old Edwards was sold out so we booked here. Our room was spacious. The tv was super tiny and Not close to the bed- off to the side. The shower is so small and water pressure was not the best. The room itself needed a paint job, scuffed walls all over. There were peices of screens in the closet area? The ac unit rattled and kept me from sleeping in. I am a light sleeper though. We've never stayed at an inn before so maybe this is normal of an older place. I just think for the money I would of expected more.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hrmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Main Street Inn Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend at the Main Street Inn with a group of friends. The location is perfect, the staff friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, unique and eclectic at this historic inn (although we spent very little time in them). Most of our time was spent in the common areas and around the fire, enjoying the ambience and the company of friends. Our meals were specially prepared for our group and over-the-top wonderful. We enjoyed a wine tasting arranged by the Inn and had an overall delightful experience. We will return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sooki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Inn. This time was for New Year's Eve. Highlands is not a rocking town on New Year's but that is what we wanted. There were 3 couples in our group and I think maybe another two to three rooms were rented. The staff was very accommodating in letting us have a pre-eve party in their bar and well as use of the area for a late night game of cards. Our room was very spacious ( #5), very clean and dressed in white. Breakfast was a typical breakfast buffet but plentiful and good. As other reviewers have stated, it is at the end of the main street therefore you get the full pleasure of the shopping experience...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BloggerLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved the Main Street Inn! Very personal, friendly service and a great location in town. The hot breakfast was simple, but nice. The rooms aren't big, but are very charming. We'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were pleasantly pleased with our stay of 3 nights. This is a very comfortable well maintained place to stay and the location cannot be beat, right in the middle of everything. We will return on our next visit ti Highlands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlstat2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing time at the Main Street Inn. The room with balcony overlooking Main Street was great. And we even had excitement of bears on Main Street in the evening. The bar and bistro are wonderful. Very friendly and approachable staff. And Morgan - what can I say. I wanted to pack her in my suitcase and bring her home. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 330KarenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Main Street Inn for a wedding. The inn is adorable, very quaint, and personable staff. The rooms are on the smaller side but I enjoyed the charm that went with staying ina bed and breakfast versus the chains we are all used to. My friends and I were very pleased with our stay and have already discussed returning next fall!

A very safe, quiet small town charm you only every see in the movies!

Room Tip: If you are going to need multiple rooms, the quest house is a perfect place to stay as there are 4 r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules030185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.3 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn Highlands

Address: 270 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8446
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $172 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 1885 inn in mountain town of Highlands in western NC. Known for cleanest rooms and excellent location. 18 rooms each with bath en-suite, wifi, AC, cable TV, telephone, some antique bathtubs, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Main Street Inn Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Inn Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing