We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Inn Highlands
Ranked #6 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Main Street Inn for a friend's wedding. The service from all the staff was exceptional. This is a beautiful Inn located in a great area of Highlands, NC on Main Street close to shops, restaurants, etc. I look forward to staying there again on a future trip.

Greg

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Main Street Inn many times over the last five years. For the money, there is no better value in Highlands! The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food is excellent and the service is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etheall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First i will say that I made a last minute reservation so I got what was left. The pictures on their site of the Guest house make it look like it has some trees around it so you might think it is secluded. Well it is actually in the parking lot. a parking lot that is extremely well lit through the night. There no dark curtains to block the light so we hung a blanket over the window so we could sleep. The room next to us did the same. The owner should stay there once and I bet they would add curtains. Also the rooms in the guest house are really really small. Other than that the staff was great and the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Try the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce3292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The innkeeper Sherry Owens gives her all to make your stay absolutely wonderful! The rooms are very comfortable with period furniture. The food is extraordinary in the Bistro with delightful filling breakfasts included in the price of the room. Outside or inside dining was available. Excellent location within walking distance of shops & restaurants. All employees go out of their way to make you feel welcome. You will enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a king bed and very roomy, most are a little smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Service was impeccable. Clean, beautiful, understanding people. Lost our room key and management drove from their home at 1130PM to give us a new one. They also provided us a ride to town when we needed to buy things for a wedding we were attending. Overall was very impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthChina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time ever staying at anything but a true hotel/motel, so I have nothing to compare it to. I got in really late on a Sunday night and only stayed one night. There was nothing negative about the experience. Since I was a late arrival check in was "self serve" and I got my key and brought my bags into the room. It was a smaller room than the average hotel room, but very cozy feeling. It gave me the feeling that I was staying in my own home.

In the time we were there we never saw another person, but had the number to the person in charge in case we needed something. The fire was great that cold and rainy winter night, and the room was well heated (although the heater in the room was very loud and also finicky about being set to the proper temperature). I really have no complaints about our stay, especially for $89 a night.

I would definitely consider this place for a future stay in Highlands.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancerevo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent our first summer holiday here, were married here and had our second and fifth anniversary here.
We love the mix of classic and contemporary. Pure white linens and excellent food. Friendly staff make you feel so welcome every time.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and my husband and I enjoy trying a different room every time we visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlovetotrVel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn Highlands

Address: 270 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $169 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 1885 inn in mountain town of Highlands in western NC. Known for cleanest rooms and excellent location. 18 rooms each with bath en-suite, wifi, AC, cable TV, telephone, some antique bathtubs, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Inn Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Inn Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing