We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Ranked #4 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem in the mountains”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Cannot say enough about this property. Great location, 5 minutes from town, great layout for everything from just relaxing and reading a good book to fishing, canoeing, hiking, swimming and, of course, shopping in town.
The staff and owner were wonderful and very helpful and Jason, the chef, prepares a most unique gourmet breakfast each day.
The rooms are very spacious as are the baths. Our room had a king bed, 2 lounge chairs, a fireplace, and a deck. The bath had a whirlpool tub, a nice size stand alone shower and many extras which showed a lot of thought.
Being a B & B, you must unload and transport your luggage which could be an issue if steps are involved.
There is no question that we would again make this our selection in the Highlands area.

Room Tip: Select ground level units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking to TripAdvisor to spread the word about your stay. The rest of the team will be just as grateful for your kudos as I am!

Until next time,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    12
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
127
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were given a fantastic opportunity for a spontaneous Memorial Day weekend at our favorite get away in Highlands....The Inn at Half Mile Farm. We have been going to this inn since it opened and going to Highlands means going to TIAHMF. We are treated like family and just like at Granny's, there are always cookies in the cookie jar! Jason's breakfasts are always delicious (and so big!) we don't eat again until hors d'oeuvres before dinner. If we get the munchies, there are always soft drinks, water and snacks at the snack bar. The gracious hospitality, impeccable service and overall casual atmosphere makes for a very relaxing place to stay. The staff is wonderful but not pretentious...it's a jeans kind of place! Sleep late, then a gourmet breakfast followed by a reading session while rocking on the front porch overlooking the lake, and back to a clean and made-up room! My kind of place! Thanks, Kate, Vivian, Donna, Jason, Wendy and the "cleaning fairy" whom we never see!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It's our pleasure! I'm so glad you had the chance to escape to Highlands recently...and it is always good to see our returning guests! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful note! See you soon -- we hope!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful inn that feels like a remote mountain retreat, but it's just outside the town of Highlands. We would definitely stay here again! Excellent service, immaculate rooms, and so comfortable! Exactly what we were hoping to find to decompress and relax in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACL5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
It's delightful to hear that our inn was just what you needed on your getaway! Thanks so much for thinking of us when you were planning your trip. The fact that you followed up with such a thoughtful recommendation afterward is just the icing on the cake!

Until next time,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Half Mile Farm for a great weekend to celebrate our anniversary. It was a surprisingly short drive from Atlanta! The property is immaculate and situated on a beautiful mountain pond. The room was fantastic, comfortable and very private. We left the balcony door open so we could hear the birds and had the fireplace on to take the morning chill out of the air. Jason and the team there are just fantastic! The breakfast is so good you need to get in a hike in to work it off. We prefer staying here to staying in town. This is the quiet mountain experience we were looking for, but it is less than 5 min drive in town for great shopping /dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for celebrating with us, and thanks for following up with such a delightful review! I'll be sure to pass your kind words along to the team. Come back and see us next time you're in need of a getaway!

Best wishes,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Rustic luxury at its best! We were completely spoiled. The room was lovely; the fireplace and jetted tub were favorite items. The food was spectacular: mimosas and lemon zest pancakes were divine. Miss Vivian made us feel welcome and like we were pampered guests in her home. We had perfect weather and spectacular scenery. We will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MNA1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for this delightful recommendation! I'll make sure Vivian sees your kind words; she'll be just as thrilled with your compliments as I am. Can't wait to have you back!

Safe travels,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

One of our favorite quickie getaways, since it's only 2 hours northeast of Atlanta, Highlands is a fun spot for some R&R. Our favorite place to stay is The Inn at Half Mile Farm. The suites are wonderful, with the best beds anywhere, fireplaces, high ceilings, great baths with huge showers and jetted tubs for 2. Private balconies with views of the surrounding woods add yet another reason to never leave your room, but when you do, the charm of the place continues with a relaxing breakfast in the dining room. You will never go hungry with how they feed you each morning! In the cooler months, a roaring fire in the living room greets you. There are so many places to curl up with a good book...the shady front porch, the sunny stone courtyard, on the front lawn surrounded by the garden or at the dock of the lake. Prior to dinner, stop in for yummy hors d'oeuvres and a glass of wine...you never know who you'll meet. Wendy and her staff provide seemingly effortless service...they are there whenever you need them, yet are so unobtrusive that you feel at times this is your own home. Their special celebrations and wine dinners are not to be missed, as dinner at Half Mile means you never have to get in your car!

Room Tip: We've enjoyed every room we have tried. The cabins look wonderful if you bring the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Manager at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Highlands is a great place to escape the chaos and confusion of life -- and we are thrilled that you choose The Inn at Half Mile Farm as your get away place! It is a charming and magical place... and we are glad you found it! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I'm not sure how this can't be #1 in it's category. We've been going to Highlands for years, but only just got around to staying here, back in November. It was great. It's an old farm house with a number of rooms tastefully added onto the back. Plus, they manage three, old, extremely well renovated log cabins just across the lawn. That's where we stayed, one of the log cabins called Fisher House. We didn't have dinner at the inn, but we had three breakfasts and each one was excellent. Matter of fact, each day there was a different dish that caught our attention enough to ask about it. And, yes, they've been asked often enough that they have a cookbook with all their recipes. Also, they're just far enough out of town that you feel like you're retiring back from what can sometimes be chaotic in town. So, we've finally found our spot. We'll be sticking with these guys for our future visits.

Room Tip: We really liked the cabins that they manage. There are three, but each can be divided up into at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Reading that you now consider ours "your spot" in Highlands absolutely made my day! Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for following up with such a thoughtful recommendation. We can't wait to have you back!

Until next time,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.1 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality

Property: Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Address: 214 Half Mile Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For guests of age 18 and over, Half-Mile Farm is that place where you relax as soon as you drive onto the property. A hilly expanse of green lawn welcomes you, and the main historic farmhouse reveals itself at the crest. Along the drive, Apple Lake glistens and offers canoes along its shore for guests to enjoy a soothing paddle. A chef-prepared breakfast begins each day for every guest, and evenings bring complimentary hors d'oeuvres, wine and soft beverages to enjoy with other guests or to take to your own little corner of the farm. A seasonal outdoor heated pool, grape arbor, vegetable garden and apple trees all cascade along the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Half Mile Farm Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing