We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The place to stay in Highlands"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Ranked #4 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"The place to stay in Highlands"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Inn. We absolutely love it there. The breakfasts cooked by Jason and Jay were outstanding.
Wendy, Kate, Carol and Vivian are most welcoming.
If you haven't been, take time to check it out. The Inn has a great web page showing pictures of all the rooms.
We plan to be back in October.

Room Tip: We like the first floor rooms avoiding a flight of steps. Room 14 has a wrap around porch, wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
And we are soooo happy to have you as regular visitors and are looking forward to your October visit! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a recommendation. We're lucky to have you as a loyal guest!

Safe travels,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    12
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
127
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from The Inn celebrating his 61st birthday! We have been blessed to travel, but The Inn at Half Mile Farm is like "coming home to family!" We are always treated like family! Jason, Kate, Wendy and Carol are always willing to do anything to make your stay wonderful! We have visiting every year for over 8 years!! We especially love the gourmet breakfast!! Thanks to all of you for making this our favorite mountain retreat!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Great to hear from you via TripAdvisor, Marianne! Knowing that you feel like family at our inn is such a wonderful compliment — that's what we want for each and every one of our guests. We're honored that your husband chose to celebrate his birthday with us, and we look forward to having you stay at our place for many years to come!

Safe travels,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first stay at this inn, having done a little bit of research on the internet before calling to book personally. We were not disappointed. Vivian checked us in and was very cheerful and helpful...taking her time telling us about all the amenities before showing us our room. There is a main sitting area and numerous porches on which to enjoy the many food and beverage items. There are home made cookies available all day, soft drinks and water in the refrig., along with snacks available anytime. However, the best part were the late afternoon hors'd oeuvres , hot and tasty, along with wine. We were able to meet and socialize with other guests during this afternoon activity.
Our room was one of the lower priced ones; yet it was wonderful. Room #4 was a knotty pine room located on the 2nd floor of the old inn. Even though small, it was clean, with fresh bed linens and a renovated shower.
We spent the afternoon walking the beautiful ground, trying our luck at fishing off the dock, and visiting with other guests.
The morning breakfast , cooked by Jason, was yummy. It was served in the cheery windowed porch.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation, Kathleen! I'm delighted to hear your inaugural stay at our inn was such a pleasant one. We like for each of our guests to feel right at home when they visit us, and I'm thrilled that was the case for you. We can't wait to have you back!

Until next time,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a last-minute getaway. We have been to Highlands many times but have always stayed with friends. This was our first time at The Inn at Half Mile Farm. It is in a perfect spot, just a few minutes from downtown Highlands, but very secluded. We stayed in room #16 and it was wonderful and the bed was comfortable. Although there were other guests at the Inn we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves most of the time. It feels like the farm/mountain house you've always wanted -- beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, and a fabulous porch. We spent half the time lounging on the porch or adirondack chairs by the lake and half our time hiking, eating and shopping. It was perfect. The breakfast, like other reviewers have noted, is delicious and more than you can eat. This isn't the place to worry about calories. Another treat is the bottomless cookie jar - we already miss it!

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking to unwind and reconnect. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We booked the Grassy Creek Falls Room, which had a nice wooded view. We didn't check out any oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
A slice of heaven? Wow! What an amazing compliment. I'm delighted to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay so much, and I'm even more delighted to hear you'd recommend our hotel to those looking for a relaxing getaway. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Until then,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay for a 15th anniversary. The grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed wine at 5:30 and coffee in the evening. It is a 5 minute drive to Highlands. There is a small pool to enjoy and fishing or canoeing in the large pond. The rooms are very nicely appointed. Even made time for a bubble bath. My only regret is that we took their recommendation on a restaurant. We ended up at Cyprus which was very loud and not very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Mo, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Hearing the details of what you enjoyed (and what you didn't enjoy) is helpful and appreciated. I'm flattered that you chose us for your 15th anniversary! I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you head off on an adventure!

All the best,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been going to Highlands for over 15 years. This is our favorite place. We had another favorite (Millstone Inn near Cashiers) but it closed a few years ago and we began staying here. Inn at Half Mile Farm is close to Highlands - an easy drive and very close the ...On The Verandah restaurant (must visit). The setting is around a small lake with lovely flowers and cabins in addition to the main inn - it does not have a mountain view, which is one of the things we loved about the Millstone.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Most have a little porch so you can sit and read or have a drink (coffee or an adult beverage). The inn also provides a snack area with granola bars, fruit juices and bottled water as well as fresh cookies in the living area of the main building. Each evening there are hors d'oeuvres and wine. We've had many wonderful chats with other guests from all over the US and from Europe.

The breakfasts are incredibly good. The breakfasts are quite hearty and usually more than I can eat - but so delicious. They will accommodate special dietary needs and have cereal, fruit and yogurt available.

This inn is a real treat to visit and makes our trips to Highlands even more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
From the hearty breakfasts to the comfortable beds, we always want our guests to feel welcome. Thank you so very much for the wonderful recommendation — it's especially meaningful coming from such a long time friend. We hope that you'll come visit us again soon!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Inn at Half Mile Farm. We met some dear friends to catch up and rejuvenate with an adults only weekend away from our kids. Since there are no kids allowed under the age of 12, it was great to be completely away from children all weekend. The Inn was such a great place to rest relax and renew. The decor was rustic yet tasteful and looked like it was right out of the pages of southern living magazine. Our room was beautiful and the bed was wonderful, so comfortable! 4 luxurious pillows were provided- 2 firmer and 2 softer to meet different tastes. What a great night's sleep. After checking in, Carol took us on a tour and showed us to our rooms. The room my husband and I had reserved was an ADA room (handicapped accessible). This meant it had one of those walk in tubs/shower that I see advertised on tv. Carol offered us a different room if we wanted, but we had chosen that room during the online reservations since we wanted to be next door to our friends so we were fine with it. It was nice to be offered something else though.

The gourmet breakfast each day was unique and delicious. My favorite was the morning we had an egg soufflé followed by a blueberry bread pudding with link sausage. Needless to say we didn't need to eat again before the hor d'oeuvers that evening, (well except for cookies that are always in the lobby). All the food was yummy! Complimentary drinks and snacks were available all day as well as homemade fresh cookies.

It rained almost the whole time we were there so we didn't have a chance to fish or canoe or swim, but there were plenty of places for us to relax and chat. There are gorgeous pastoral views out every window and porch and the landscaping is amazing.

Carol went out of her way to make sure our needs were met and that our stay was perfect! We will definitely return. My only complaint....they put something addictive in those snickerdoodles because I ate way too many of them.

Room Tip: We toured the rooms in the main house and while they were nice and overlooked the lake, the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi511969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
"Rustic yet tasteful" — you've summed us up nicely! Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation, I'm very glad to hear that you and your friends had such a terrifically relaxing getaway. It may have rained all weekend, but we're glad that the delicious treats made up for it. Join us again soon for more of those delightfully addictive snickerdoodles!

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.1 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality

Property: Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Address: 214 Half Mile Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For guests of age 18 and over, Half-Mile Farm is that place where you relax as soon as you drive onto the property. A hilly expanse of green lawn welcomes you, and the main historic farmhouse reveals itself at the crest. Along the drive, Apple Lake glistens and offers canoes along its shore for guests to enjoy a soothing paddle. A chef-prepared breakfast begins each day for every guest, and evenings bring complimentary hors d'oeuvres, wine and soft beverages to enjoy with other guests or to take to your own little corner of the farm. A seasonal outdoor heated pool, grape arbor, vegetable garden and apple trees all cascade along the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Half Mile Farm Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing