We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation to the Max”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Ranked #4 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation to the Max”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Half Mile Farm is one of the best places on earth, and the service is top notch. This is our fifth year coming to the Inn during the summer. We have stayed in several different rooms, and they are all lovely and comfortable. This year, we decided to go up for the Inn's July 4th celebration. The cookout was delicious, with master chef Jason at the helm. The magic he works on breakfast each day was on display that evening as well. A little welcome rain could not spoil the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the cool weather, with it being 105 degrees at home. It was 74 degrees when we arrived at 3 pm. The rockers on the porch overlooking the still, glassy Mirror Lake is an experience not to be missed. The staff, led by innkeeper Kate, know what service is all about. We will be back for years to come, and highly recommend this as your relaxation destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Ed,

We might have you write our next ad campaign! I'm thrilled to hear how happy you've been with us over the years. Thank you so much for the kind words. It was truly a delight to read them. I'll be sure to pass this on to Chef Jason and the rest of our staff. I know they'll be just as touched as I am! Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay that much better. We hope to see you all again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    12
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
127
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been retreating to Highlands for many years. As a teacher of young children, I found it a relaxing place to go because Highlands is geared more to adults than children...no amusement parks,no fast food drive-ins, etc. We discovered Inn at Half Mile Farm the summer that it opened. It has been our favorite place to get away since that year. We try to make at least one trip each year...not always able to do so but always wish we could.

The rooms are quite spacious. homey and comfortable. We've always stayed in a courtyard room. Breakfast (brunch) always is wonderful...I don't think we've had the same thing more than once in all our visits. We can be counted on to sneek into the dining room near the end of service which leaves us not wanting anything else to eat until mid-afternoon when we munch on freshly baked cookies we've carried out with us. Bottled water and sodas are always available from the snack stand as well.

We love to carry our coffee to the porch and rock as we read a few minutes after breakfast. The same spot awaits us in late afternoon as we enjoy hors d'ouevres and watch the ripples on the lake.

We have been saddened to find a couple of our favorite places in Highlands have closed. The bookstore and our favorite restaurant are no longer open. However, there are still many great shops and restaurants remaining.

We always find the staff to be very friendly and accommodating and we find the facilities to be kept up nicely. We look forward to another visit ...hopefully...in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
It's always nice to hear from you. You're right — Highlands is certainly the ideal place for a little R&R! I'm proud that you've chosen to relax with us year after year. Thank you for taking the time to review us. You truly described us to a T! We hope to see you back in the fall, too. Of course, let me know if there's anything we can do to make your stay that much better.

Regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a serene spot! Only 5 minutes or so from Highlands but tucked back in the woods with small fields bordered by perrenial gardens and a water lily filled lake. Rooms were both beautiful and comfortable. The Inn offers more privacy than a B&B but with a wine service and scrumptious gourmet breakfast, you have the opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences. Kate, the inn keeper, and her staff were delightful and ready to help with any arrangements and local information. My only advice is to plan to spend some of your time on site. Whether it's a rocker or settee on the covered porch or the adirondack chairs overlooking the lake, it's a great spot to just wind down and enjoy the natural beauty surrounding you. We will be back!

Room Tip: On line photos are helpful; but call if you have questions. Kate and her staff can make recommendat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Caren,

I'm glad we could help you relax! It's always nice to get to speak with fellow travelers. We've certainly had some fascinating people walk through our doors! Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a beautiful setting! Our room was so comfy. LOVED having separate tub & shower. When it was 100 degrees at home, it was in then70's in the Highlands. We slept with our door open every night. Breakfast & happy hour were fabulous! Loved getting to know other guests as well. We were so well cared for...can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Nina,

I'm glad that we could help you cool off! Sleeping with the door open is so soothing. Thank you for the lovely review. We hope you'll come back and see us in the fall!

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 25th wedding anniversary trip. We chose The Inn at Half-Mile Farm because of their informative website. It was very helpful to see what the rooms looked like before booking our vacation and when we arrived we were not disappointed.

We found our room (14-High Falls) had a gas fireplace, a roomy bathroom with a large glass shower and a tub for two with jets and a private balcony. We enjoyed walking around the grounds; the gardens were beautiful! We especially enjoyed visiting with the other guests while having delicious wine and hors d'oeurves each evening before heading to dinner.

Though the family running the inn had company of their own at home that week, they seemed to serve us well during our stay. They did their best to make dinner reservations for us upon our request. The maid service was excellent. I do agree with one review regarding the condition of the Kayaks. We notice that they were weather worn and kind of dirty. The small pool was in great shape though.

Last, but not least, the breakfasts at this inn were fabulous! I loved them all, but my favorite was the walnut pancakes we had the first morning. We skipped lunch and feasted again at dinner each day we were there. We'll definitely be back to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Julie,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! I'm glad that our website was so helpful as you were booking your trip. It's even better to hear that we exceeded your expectations! I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to join us for breakfast. Those walnut pancakes are one of our favorites, too! It sounds like you had a very romantic getaway. Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you both again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was a terrific Inn; lots of privacy but with the feel of a small B&B. Great setting with lots of room but only a couple of minutes from town with all of its fine dining. Breakfasts were marvelous and varied. Evening hors d'ouvres w/ wine every day at 5:30 was a great way to meet other guests and learn about activities and restaurants in the area. Complementary snacks, cookies and water/soft drinks were always available. Our room was spacious, as was the bathroom and the wraparound porch. The service was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
David,

I'm glad you had a fabulous stay -- and, Happy Anniversary! Our breakfasts are amazing and I'm thrilled that you could join us for our cocktail hour in the evening. It's the perfect way to start and end your day! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL,GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you're looking for a spot close to Highlands, NC & in the middle of nature this is the perfect place! Great, warm staff --and evening wine & apps as well as breakfast were great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
You hit the nail on the head! Drinking beautiful wine and eating delicious food in good company are the best things in life. We're proud that we could make you feel so comfortable here in Highlands. Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality

Property: Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality
Address: 214 Half Mile Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For guests of age 18 and over, Half-Mile Farm is that place where you relax as soon as you drive onto the property. A hilly expanse of green lawn welcomes you, and the main historic farmhouse reveals itself at the crest. Along the drive, Apple Lake glistens and offers canoes along its shore for guests to enjoy a soothing paddle. A chef-prepared breakfast begins each day for every guest, and evenings bring complimentary hors d'oeuvres, wine and soft beverages to enjoy with other guests or to take to your own little corner of the farm. A seasonal outdoor heated pool, grape arbor, vegetable garden and apple trees all cascade along the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Half Mile Farm Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing