We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful vist to Fire Mountain...dreaming about the next one”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My wife and our two golden retrievers just returned from another visit to Fire Mountain. We stayed for the third time in the Cullasaja cabin which is just the right size for us and conveniently located away from other cabins to avoid distractions for the dogs. Everything was perfectly in order when we arrived, and Matthew provided some additional details at check-in once we were able to get unloaded and get the dogs settled from the 5 hour drive. We were a little worried about getting up the hill because the area had had about 6-8 inches of snow a couple days earlier, but the road was plowed and with our 4WD we made it up fine. Another vehicle did have trouble making up the final hill to the cabins one night. Hiram left us a message and we were able to get around them. The next morning the staff was out helping them pull it out. We had breakfast delivered one morning which consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit, and biscuits....all of which were very good. Highlands is a great town and the after Christmas specials were very good. We ate at Cyprus, Wolfgang's, and Paoletti's...all were outstanding. We also caught some New Year's bowl games at Highlands Smokehouse....TV's were great but food wasn't outstanding. We've heard of locals really liking this so maybe we caught them on a bad day. The best part of the trip was being able to relax in front of a fire with a beautiful view and our whole family. We're already talking about when we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2010

The veiws were breath-taking. I was disappointed however in the distance from the inn to the downtown Highlands. I also felt that an inn that served breakfast could've have started it before 930a and coffee before 830a. We've stayed in other inns where there were more little touches, like complimentary water, sodas, coffee, etc.(all day long). If we return to Highlands, we will seek out another place to stay. Very pricey place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrs10smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fire_Mountain, General Manager at Fire Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent anniversary getaway experience at the Fire Mountain Inn. We were extremely pleased that you experienced breath-taking views from your accommodation and deck and appreciate very much your five star rating for cleanliness.

We are always disappointed to receive an average review from any quest since our goal is to exceed the expectations of each and every quest. During check-out at Guest Services you were extremely profuse in your compliments expressing that you had enjoyed a most wonderful anniversary stay at Fire Mountain and you never voiced any displeasure at any time during your stay.

To say that we are completely nonplussed about your concerns regarding the property location and the time that breakfast is served at the Inn would be an understatement as detailed information regarding these subjects is provided on our website and in your email reservation confirmation letter. We provide this detailed information so that you are able to make an informed decision as to if Fire Mountain is the right place for your getaway celebration. Your areas of concern were also discussed in detail with your husband when he made your reservation for your stay by phone with a staff member in our reservations area. The absolute last thing in the world that we desire at Fire Mountain is an unhappy guest. Fire Mountain has a very comprehensive website so that our guests may determine if they desire the unique experience provided at Fire Mountain. If you should not desire such then you would find that we would happily assist you with a referral to a more conventional place in the village of Highlands that may better fit your desired needs.

The opening words on the Fire Mountain website are: “Fire Mountain, one of the most unique and spectacular mountaintop hideaways in American, is located a few miles outside the village of Highlands, North Carolina on hundreds of mountaintop acres”. The Arrival Guide provided for all guests prior to their arrival and the FAQ section on our website state that the mileage from our entrance to the village limits is approximately six and one half miles with a drive time of approximately 8 to 9 minutes from the top of Fire Mountain into the village. The experience provided at Fire Mountain and in the village of Highlands is like having the best of both worlds offered here in the high elevations of the Southern Highlands.

The Mountaintop Breakfast provided at the Fire Mountain Inn is a grand laid back affair that many guests return to Fire Mountain again and again to experience as evidenced by many reviews on Trip Advisor. As most of our guests come to getaway from the stressors of everyday life and for rest, relaxation, romance, peace, quiet and serenity and the spectacular beauty of the environment at Fire Mountain they do not desire to be up, dressed and ready to start the day at 7:00 am and find that beginning their day between 8:30 am – 10:00 am to be just what the doctor ordered for a very different, enriching, renewing and unique getaway from the stressors of the everyday world. All details regarding breakfast are provided on the Fire Mountain website and in the New Guest Guide provided to every guest prior to arrival. If breakfast is desired earlier a hearty “take away breakfast” may be left at your front door by your designated time to take with you on an early morning excursion by a simple advance request to Guest Services. Our luxury mountaintop Cabins all have fully equipped kitchens for guests that would like to have the option to prepare edibles or coffee and teas at anytime of the day or night. Complimentary coffee and teas are provided in all Cabins. Breakfast in included for stays in the Fire Mountain Inn and the Treehouse accommodations of the Inn. Breakfast is not included in the tariffs for Cabins but Cabin guests may order the Mountaintop Breakfast to be delivered to their Cabin each morning of their stay.

Fire Mountain provides for all guests of the Inn 24/7 complimentary fresh organic fruits (which come from our organic orchard in High Season months), water and ice, which is crystal clear and chemical free sourced from over 850’ below the top of the mountain from our own wells. We do not offer sodas containing artificial sugars, chemicals and caffeine. Wine glasses, wine openers, ice buckets, cocktail glasses, and napkins are provided in each accommodation. Hot water by thermos, mugs and a selection of teas may be requested from Guest Services and provided complimentary in-suite at your request. Robes, hiking sticks, flashlights and moist weather gear are provided complimentary by request. Fire Mountain is known for the comprehensive acclimation provided at check-in to the property and the surrounding areas regarding events, hiking, touring and day trips along with mapping. The staff at Guest Services is available each day of your stay if you should need any further assistance or acclimation. Prior to arrival you are also provided with Guides in PDF form for arrival, dining in all villages in the Highlands’, shopping, leisure pursuits and helpful hints. The list of complimentary niceties provided at Fire Mountain is much longer and presented in detail on the Fire Mountain website In addition there are many more “touches” that may be provided by simple request that are explained in detail in the “enhancements” section of our website and in the leather bound book provided in each accommodation.

Even though all information was provided prior to your arrival regarding the concerns expressed in your review we would hope that you would give the Highlands another try as it has been a desired and popular resort destination getaway since the late 1800’s. We would encourage you to try a more conventional hospitality property in the village on your next trip as there are many to chose from, all of which provide excellent accommodation and cuisine at many different price points. We would also encourage you to talk directly with the property that you chose so that you can make absolutely sure that they provide the rates, amenities, location and times that you desire and in the way that meet your requirements as all of Highlands is a very unique and unconventional resort destination in and of it’s self. The complexities of providing excellent accommodation and cuisine are many in the high and secluded elevations of the Southern Highlands and you will find prices for both to be somewhat higher than normal compared to certain other resort areas in North Carolina. Highlands is the only upscale mountain resort area in all of Western North Carolina and even though you were not impressed with our pricing you will find that Fire Mountain is right in line with the market rates in the Highlands for the experience and services provided. Our rates are listed in the “rates” section of our website for your review prior to making a reservation.

Fire Mountain is a very unique and secluded mountaintop hideaway on hundreds of acres providing long range views in all directions. Conventional we are not but unique we are. If you would like a very different and unique getaway experience that is enjoyed by thousands of guests each year as evidenced by the reviews on Trip Advisor we invite you the reader of this response to join us and allow us to exceed your expectations as you getaway from the stressors of your everyday life and relax in the incredible solitude and beauty of the natural environment provided here at Fire Mountain in the Southern Highlands.

Mark Gleesing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was the perfect Fall weekend get-away for my husband and I! Fire Mountain Inn is secluded, peaceful and so picturesque. Hiram and Matthew are the best hosts and make sure your every need is not only covered, but they spoil you! They gave us some great suggestions for scenic drives, and the food was just amazing!!! Breakfast should NOT be missed, and we also had a cheese/fruit platter and bottle of wine delivered to our room that was just wonderful. The bonfire gathering on Saturday night was great fun too. Just can't say enough about this heavenly place on earth! It's the perfect "get-away from it all" for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaGirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

A beautiful landscaped drive to a spectacular retreat. The cabin was well equipped for all of our needs. No television, no telephones, complete relaxation. The kitchen met all of our needs as we cooked dinner each night of our stay. A wonderful breakfast was delivered to our door, which we ate by the fireplace. The Highlands offers grocery and restaurants and is very convenient to Fire Mountain. A walk around the grounds offers spectacular views and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended and definitely will be revisited, Fire Mountain surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeidson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We just returned from a visit to Fire Mountain Inn. The location was perfect, the innkeepers were outstanding, and the accommodations were very nice. Breakfast was delicious and we had a spectacular view of the sunset from the Sassafras tree house. We would definitely return to Fire Mountain Inn. It provided a wonderful respite for both of us.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Bookeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I recently returned from what started out as a short stay at Fire Mountain Inn during the height of leaf season. I've never seen anything so beautiful. We stayed in the Satohla room which was lovely, spacious, and had incredible views. In the mornings we awoke to sunrises and in the evenings we had toddies on the opposite deck as we watched the sun go down. After the sun went down we built a fire to read by and chat in front of before we turned in. Each day we looked forward to our breakfast, prepared by Matthew and company, which usually consisted of some yummy homemade thing complete with fresh herbs cut that morning from their garden and homemade applesauce from the apple trees on the property. We happened to be there the week before Halloween and were able to enjoy the wonderful decorations all around the property to commemorate the holiday. Matthew and Hiram are wonderful and caring hosts, attentive to every detail. We were there to hike in the Highlands/Cashiers area so upon check in, Matthew spent a great deal of time acclimating us to our surroundings and giving us tips on local hiking and waterfall secrets. My friend and I ended up enjoying ourselves so much that we extended our stay several days beyond our original departure date. This place is a real jewel. Don't miss it. Thanks so much Matthew !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was our first time to stay at Fire Mountain it could not have been better. The views and the atmosphere were perfect. We had one of the smaller cabins and although were were in the Fire Mountain resort area, we felt like we were the only ones there. Highlands NC is very busy this time of year yet we were far enough away it felt like we had the beauty of the surrounding mountains all to ourselves. It was one of the most romantic times we have spent together. We definitely did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
228 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $186 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing